We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old on the outside, but like new inside!”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Lindsay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old on the outside, but like new inside!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

fromcanada51 expressed my sentiments exactlly. It may have rained every day, but it was only a drizzle. The Hop On Hop Off trolley stopped just outside our door, so we had access to all of Vancouver. Our corner room w/wrap-around windows provided a gorgeous view of the bay. You have to love getting a metal key on a leather fob for your room, which was returned to its cubby hole each time we went out!. Just like in old movies! The room itself had all the comforts of a big chain hotel. Restaurant was ok, and served a perfectly good breakfast. Staff was not knowledgeable about trolley discounts. Fortunately we called the trolley company. I'm looking forward to staying there again!!

Room Tip: Get a corner room for the view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r0se65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Living in Vancouver we sometimes forget about how much people say it rains in Vancouver, I wish we could control the weather. We call it "liquid sunshine". We have been using the old style room keys since 1912 and having you drop them off at the front desk before you leave the hotel allows us to get to know our guests better. Please come back anytime and we will welcome you with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    617
    147
    54
    37
See reviews for
310
656
128
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I love the Sylvia. I visited Vancouver during a rainy week, but I didn't care because my stay at the Sylvia was so cosy and warm. With a beautiful view of English Bay, the cosy room I was in felt like it was made for me. (I hope I can stay in it again when I come back to Vancouver for another visit). The service at the hotel is friendly and efficient. If you appreciate the character of an older hotel, the Sylvia can't be beat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fromcanada51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank-you for your comments and do not worry we would love to have to stay with us again raining or not. The Sylvia is a great place to stay warm and watch the storms come in over English Bay or watch the sun set from our Lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Thank you to all the staff who make our every stay at The Sylvia a memorable one - from the front desk to the restaurant. From the valley we drive in to Vancouver always anticipating the delightful location and the unique character of this old hotel and we are never disappointed. This time we were in the newer part of the hotel and found the bed very comfortable and all the amenities to make for a wonderful stay. Thank you! We will be back.

Room Tip: You can always ask for the newer section of the hotel, and asking for a king size bed gives you a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Great title,"We love this place" I agree that my staff take great pride in offering our Guests the best service we can. The new wing (which was built in 1985) has king sized beds and are very comfortable. Happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have stayed in many of the top rated Vancouver hotels in Coal Harbour and the downtown core, but for this trip we decided to try out the older Slyvia Hotel located right across from English Bay at the entrance to Stanley Park. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking English Bay on the 7th floor and were very pleased with our room. It was spotless and consisted of a bedroom, sitting room, and a small kitchen and bathroom. The views from the room were great and a Starbucks (for morning coffee) was right across the street. We parked the car and walked everywhere... There are several excellent restaurants within one block and you literally cross the street and walk onto the seawall to access Stanley Park. You are a bit far from the downtown core and you would probably have to drive or take the bus to reach the shopping malls, but we weren't there for the shopping, so this didn't matter to us. We had great walks into the park and around Lost Lagoon, beautiful eagles flew right by our hotel window and we enjoyed the view of the ocean beach. A short walk along the sea wall towards the south gets you to the Aquabus dock, where a little water taxi takes you across the water in about 3 minutes to Granville Island, where many shops and restuarants are located. This is also a great place to buy fresh produce and baked goods to take back to your room. The Slyvia Hotel is a heritage building, built in 1912, so it isn't a modern upscale place and it definitely has an older feel, but if you are planning to visit Stanley Park, the Vancouver Aquarium, Granville Island, or the West End of Vancouver, you couldn't ask for a better location. Park you car, walk everywhere, enjoy the view and the nearby restaurants. A perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a room on a higher floor facing right onto English Bay if you want a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GreenLakeReener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Sounds like you made the correct choice to try the Sylvia Hotel and we have new guests that will return. Everything you said is correct and your comments will help others that are interested in booking with us for the first time. The location is perfect and I know that my staff treated you well. Always happy to hear about a guests first experience with the Sylvia Hotel and all it's charm. We will look forward to your next visit and thank-you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Thanks to the staff at the restaurant and hotel, for helping create a truly memorable experience. This hotel is truly unique in its character and value!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Next_adventure27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Sometimes the short and sweet facts say it all, thank-you for your comments. I will post them in the lunch room for the Food and beverage crew to enjoy. Thank you for the great scores as well. We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#47 of 92 in Vancouver
1,403 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,715 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,721 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,243 - ₹ 18,058
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing