We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, not best for value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here when going to see Gonzaga vs Hawaii basketball at Rogers Arena. Nice, clean, central. Right on Robson street for those that love to shop/dine. Big comfy beds and extremely clean bathrooms. Nice outdoor heated pool. Great for business trips, a little spendy for family outings. Parking is going to cost also. Front desk staff is truly professional, even let us check in 2 hours early.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,336 - 1,340 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Vancouver can be an expensive city, especially given the strong Canadian dollar. However, one way to save while still staying in a beautiful hotel is to get some groceries and prepare some of your own meals.

This is all found in the Westin Grand, which, I think is an all-suite hotel...very unusual for a Westin. Also unusual is the floor plan of the hotel. Each floor is shaped like the outline of a grand piano. So, each suite is really a bit different from the others. However, I think all include a small kitchenette (including dishwasher, dishes, cutlery, etc.).

And, since downtown Vancouver is a place where people live/work 24 hours, just down the block is a grocery with most of what you might need. I still highly recommend sampling some of the great restaurants in Vancouver, but you can balance a fancy meal with something casual at lunch or breakfast.

As usual, I could go on about how terrific and welcoming many people in Vancouver are (they did host the Olympics a couple of years ago) and how wonderfully diverse the city is, but for the Westin Grand the key remains the people.

I was fortunate enough to have Gina greet me at the front desk. She is friendly, intelligent and a good source of helpful information. Even the valet at the small motor court downstairs was on top of his game, while being very efficient.

The hotel is a few blocks to several attractions and across the street from the architecturally unique library and a TransLink stop, from where you can easily reach many other parts of the city.

Especially if you are a Starwood Preferred Guest visiting Vancouver, I would highly recommend the Westin Grand as your first choice in Starwood hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ActiveTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear ActiveTraveler1,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share such a detailed and glowing review! We're so glad our all-suite setup is a perfect fit for your trips to Vancouver. We look forward to sharing your comments with Gina and the team, and hope we have the opportunity to wow you again on your next stay!

Stay well,
The Westin Grand Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Looking to find the perfect weekend get away. The Westin Grand in Vancouver B.C. is a great place to stay.
Excellent staff, very friendly with an eagerness to serve that adds to the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Amazing service, beautiful clean rooms and ours even had an incredible water view.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiantraveller678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have stayed at the Westin Grand a few times now and it has always been a good stay. The rooms have "mini-kitchens" so you have a micro-wave, toaster, dishes, dishwasher, sink, small fridge and coffeemaker. Ideal when you have kids b/c you can make up breakfast or lunch before you head out. We have always made good use of the pool and hot tub too. Decent sized pool for swimming laps - and my kids have braved it in the rains of March saying the water was really nice! The workout facility is large and open with floor to ceiling windows to outside pool deck area. My husband said the steam room was the best one he has ever been in (nice and hot and steamy). The bathrooms are always very clean and all the rooms we have had come with both a big bath tub and a separate large shower. It is a 5-10 minute walk to Science World and we walk down to the Aquarium down Robson St and onto the seawall in 30-45 minutes. And it has been excellent every time we have stayed there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pintobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear pintobat,

We are delighted to have welcomed you and your family back to the hotel, and thank you for sharing your review! We're glad to see that we're able to provide such an excellent fit for your needs during your time in Vancouver. We look forward to your next visit!

Stay well,
The Westin Grand Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand, Vancouver

Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: ₹ 10,747 - ₹ 30,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated and located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing