We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms - perfect for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great rooms - perfect for business”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel is one of my go-to spots for business travel in the Vancouver area. The rooms are large, spacious and you get a separate living/work space (which is great for ordering room service and working in the evenings).
The good:
Big rooms, pretty well updated
Location - lots of good takeout spots in walking distance
Good Wifi
Nice and quiet
Great views from room
The bad:
Long wait for elevator at peak times (only 2 elevators!)
Room service menu is lacking (and the food isn't the greatest)

Room Tip: I like to book a deluxe corner suite as it offers me the best room to work in and has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    594
    154
    64
    23
See reviews for
353
600
106
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We just came back from a 3-night stay here for a large gathering of family and friends. The hotel is wonderfully convenient to just about everything and served as a great jumping off spot for everyone. We really appreciated all the little touches that made our stay particularly accommodating- umbrellas for guests to use, friendly staff, suggestions for places where we could stay out drinking later in the evening (their bar closes at 11 on weeknights), etc. One reviewer gave a poor review to the continental breakfast, but I have to say we were pretty satisfied with the offering of several types of breads, danishes and bagels, fruit, smoked salmon, yogurt, granola, etc. They offer a nice hot breakfast in the restaurant as well, if you're not up to venturing out for local offerings (of which there are many). There is also a market located within 1/2 block. We stayed in an executive suite on the 30th floor and the room was exceptionally quiet and had incredible views. Compared to other hotel chains, and even within the Westin family, we found this hotel to not only meet but exceed our expectations.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, I would definitely recommend going higher up and selecting an executive suite i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CO_sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here between Thursday February 16th and Monday February 20th, 2012. The hotel was booked using Aeroplan points, so expectations were low. Fortunately, the hotel over-achieved in my opinion, in many ways. The location on Robson St. is advantageous. Vancouver is a fairly small city, so everything is relatively close, but being on Robson was a good starting point. The hotel is located directly across the street from the interesting architecture of the Vancouver public library, and you can see BC Place right down the road. There are also two Starbucks within half a block in either direction, if that floats your boat; a liquor store right next door; a food market a couple doors down; and within walking distance of all the shops on Robson. Despite being in what would seem to be a busy area, I found the hotel nicely quiet. The ground floor entrance is merely that, an entrance; the lobby is actually one floor up. The front desk staff were inordinately pleasant; I had many interactions with them, though mostly because the magnetic swipe cards (used for the elevator and for the room) repeatedly stopped working, causing a journey down to the front desk on several occasions. There are only two elevators, and both are slow, so get used to waiting around a bit for the elevator. This is promoted as an all-suites hotel, though it seems the "suite" part is due to a little enclave hidden behind closet doors in each room, that contains a microwave, dishwasher, sink, even dishes and cutlery. Not sure why most visitors would require this. The in-room bar-fridge is only lightly stocked; same with the snack tray (one chocolate bar, one cookie pack, two small tins of Pringles, an oatmeal bar, that's about it) and none of the snacks were replaced once eaten. Two free bottles of cheap water; two premium bottles that cost if consumed. I was bumped for some reason, from a one-bed to a two bed room, both queen size. The bed was very comfortable, as are all Westin/Sheraton beds. Low quality and sadly complicated clock radio alarm. Above average room size. Above average washroom size, which contained separate (and nice) shower stall and tub. The tub is a very deep soaker tub. Basic shampoo, soap and conditioners, nothing fancy. Soft white cotton robe. I used the iron and ironing board, which as usual are very low quality. The iron in particularly is dangerous, with a very small base; lightly bump the ironing board and the hot iron will tip over, which it did to me three times, spilling water everywhere and almost sizzling my leg. Nice lobby lounge / restaurant, however, the food was the low-point of the stay. Don't waste your time eating here, as the kitchen does not have it together. Breakfast was weak and bland; stayed for dinner one night and sent the dinner back twice (and as someone who once owned a restaurant, I never do that). Ordered steak frites, medium rare (around $35), and the cut of meat that arrived was very low quality and wayyyy overcooked, while the vegetables were undercooked. Sent it back, only to have it returned worse. Medium rare is not difficult, so no idea why this was messed up. The frites seemed to be frozen store bought. It was late, and I left hungry and went to the restaurant across the road, but to the Westin's credit they removed the entire dinner from my bill and apologized. The 3rd floor gym / fitness centre is basic but good. 5 or 6 treadmills (with small TVs attached), various dumbbells, a few machines, a few exercise / yoga balls. Sauna and steam room. Lemon water provided in large dispenser for free. Piles of towels for use. The gym overlooks the 3rd floor outdoor terrace, on which sits a lap pool (wide enough for 3 people to do laps side by side) and a very hot Jacuzzi, also outdoors. Free and readily accessibly umbrellas at the front door for rainy Vancouver. Free Globe & Mail at the room door each morning, Vancouver Sun on Sundays. The overall feeling is a hotel that is modern and clean, with good (but not great) amenities, nice staff, and an easy-going professional vibe. It feels like you are staying in a glass condo tower, which is how it looks. Nothing dicey about this place; would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Steve M,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing such a detailed review! This kind of detailed feedback from our guests is so valuable in ensuring we constantly improve our processes. We were thrilled to see that our associates were able to make your stay so memorable and that you enjoyed so many areas of the hotel. We would like to offer our apologies once again for the lapse in service in our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Stay well,
The Westin Grand Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My partner spends two weeks of the month at this hotel and I often go up to see him. It is a large hotel but never feels crowded or the staff hurried. I believe that it was originally built as apartments, and all of the rooms that I have stayed in have been suites. The location of the hotel is quite good, lots to do in the neighborhood. The staff is very efficient and pleasant, and there rarely is a wait for anything. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear JohnLosAngeles_CA,

Thank you for sharing your review! We're delighted to have welcomed you and your partner on so many occasions. Thank you for being such loyal guests, we look forward to many more wonderful stays!

Stay well,
The Westin Grand Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver,B.C
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was looking forward to staying in this hotel as we were booked in one of the suites that my family booked for us.

The view outside our room was amazing. The room amenities was good.

Service was not for the hotel it claims to be. Mind you, I have stayed in other westin hotels and this one doesn't do justice to other locations.

I won't say more but buffet breakfast had flies (yes flies, you see this right ---Fruit flies) on their fruits. I told the server about it and not apologetic at all. Her facial expression (well there were no words from her) Like it was something we should expect?
They did change the fruit tray though but damage has been done. We are not talking of a 3 star hotel. Or a cheap hotel. We, clients are paying a price for something right?

The gentleman who also greeted us at the Starwood preferred guest check-in counter addressed me and my husband as "folks". Seriously? He said, "Hello Folks, what can I do for you?" Folks? Oh my....

This is disappointing as the room was really gorgeous and I love the toiletries they had. Absolutely not fair for housekeeping that did a good job in keeping our room clean too. Hopefully management will see this.

On a lighter note, check out my pictures.

Room Tip: It wAs a suite but we were facing the Vancouver library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LonelyPTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear LonelyPTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, and please accept our apologies that the service during your stay was not up to standard. Most importantly, please accept our apologies for your dissatisfaction with our breakfast buffet. Please know we take these issues very seriously and have followed up with our food and beverage teams to ensure this does not happen again. We hope we can welcome you back again to put our best foot forward. Please contact us directly so we can personally ensure your next stay is memorable.

Stay well,
The Westin Grand Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,609 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,187 - ₹ 35,756
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated and located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Grand, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing