We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is a nice hotel with great service. My husband and I spent four nights in what we call a "starter vacation," which is a stay to experience the city before spending time at a resort. Nearly all activities that Vancouver has to offer (bikes, nature walks, restaurants, clubs, shopping) are a short cab ride or walk away. Public transportation also seemed accessible, although we didn't personally exercise that option. Here are the things I wish someone would have mentioned on this forum that would have been helpful to know about the area.

First of all, Vancouver is a walking friendly city and the Bayshore is centrally located to activities for couples and families. In addition to a Safeway, there's a Whole Foods and several liquor stores nearby, definitely walking distance. Not to sound whiney, but cocktails at restaurants are absudly overpriced compared to purchasing a bottle of wine, so plan accordingly. I'm not sure why other reviews mention that tower rooms are sub-standard. Our corner tower room had a lovely view of the harbor, was nicely renovated and also quiet. The Westin is a great people watching spot, since it is located near Stanely Park and harbor activities.

The reason we say the service was great at the Westin (with the exception of a rude poolside waiter) was the manager Cassy who made our stay special by giving us the inside track on restaurants and entertainment spots that are not as touristy and more local. This is how we like to travel and she put our stay over the top to excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor are worth the upgrade. The tower rooms facing the harbor have better views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,998)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,195 - 2,199 of 2,999 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here awaiting our cruise to Alaska. Dedicated Starwoods members so easy choice. But the view from our room in the Tower was awesome. We were even serenaded by trumpet from a man on one of the boats in the marina below!

Food at the restaurant was good but of course pricey. Easy walking to most anything. Coal Harbour is a wonderful area with high rise residential towers everywhere. A walking, running, biking paradise.

The room at the Westin was comfortable. The view from the desk in the room was frankly distracting but very enjoyable.

The Cardero restaurant was really good, right in the marina. Lots of bistros and a Safeway within blocks.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view, particularly in the Tower
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

If you are booking a tower room ask for the 20th floor as these are the only rooms with 'proper' balconies that you can sit out and relax on, the others have 'step out' balconies which are only about 50cm wide and so have no room for furniture!. Our stay included Canada day so had a great time watching fireworks from balcony and lots going on in the harbour to watch every day. Outdoor pool lovely on a sunny day. Great part of town, not too far to walk to town, harbour or Stanley park. Breakfast a bit expensive (about 25 dollars) but lots of alternatives close to hotel and a starbucks in the lobby. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and its helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the 20th floor in the tower.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamacaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a weekend in early July 2012. Got a good deal on Priceline, which is a good way to go for downtown Vancouver as the hotels are all quite pricey.

The hotel is well located, right on the water, and you can easily walk out to the waterfront shopping/dining area, or make a short drive (possibly walk?) to Stanley Park. According to the hotel staff, the popular Gastown area is only a 20 minute walk away. You can also walk a few short blocks to Robson Street, which is filled with great Japanese Restaurants. We tried Gyoza King, which was excellent.

The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly, and rooms are clean and modern. No free Wi-Fi in the rooms, but I believe there was free access in the lobby and Starbucks in the hotel.

The only negative is the parking situation. The official parking for the Westin is in a different structure than the hotel. It is right across a narrow side street, so distance is not the problem, but rather the cost, currently at $36 per day! If you’re like us and prefer to spend your money on other things than parking, you have two other options. The first is a rather sketchy public lot out on Georgia, the main street nearby. When we were there it was $6.50 from 6pm to 6am, and another $6.50 from 6am to 6pm on weekends. During the day on weekdays it is more expensive. But the best choice (assuming you will be taking your car out most of the day) is to use the metered spaces in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. There are quite a few, and they are free from 10pm to 9am. So if you come back after dinner at 9pm, you only have to pay for an hour and then you’ll be good until 9am the next morning. However, parking is expensive wherever you go in downtown Vancouver, so this is probably more of a problem with the city in general, and not just the Westin.

Overall, I would definitely return to the Westin Bayshore and would recommend it to anyone looking for a 4-star, conveniently-located hotel in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelerfromthe808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I was worried that this hotel would be a little too far on the outside of town, but it is within a mile or two of the city center. It is on the edge of Stanley Park. The views from our tower rooms were breathtaking. The pool was peaceful and fun for the kids. The service at the pool was notably excellent. There is a full Starbucks in the lobby, if that matters to you (it did to me!). Rooms were beautifully furnished and our bathrooms were huge. It definitely exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: I did not see the non-Tower rooms, but they are not located in a building with high floors. I would...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,070 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,587 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: ₹ 12,651 - ₹ 39,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing