We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An excellent enhancement to our visit to the Canadian Rockies

We recently spent a couple of weeks touring the Canadian Rockies and Vancouver Island. Prior to... read more

Reviewed 11 October 2018
Jeff B
Banff, Jasper, Lake Louise, Icefields- best buy ever

This is the most fantastic travel app. Cost us about $16, worth every cent. An excellent detailed... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2018
Shelley G
,
Brisbane, Australia
via mobile
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
18
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canadian rockies points of interest lake louise interesting facts vancouver island icefields geology explorer narration banff information stops journey
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We recently drove from Vancouver to Calgary and Vancouver to Whistler and used the Gypsy app on my smart phone. This was an invaluable part of our trip. GyPSy told us all the history, how the landscape was formed and the best part, GyPSy also told us what were the must do stops, how long the stops would take and why we should stop there. GyPSy also gave us alternative stops along the way which you could choose to do if time permitted. All up it was such a fantastic addition to our trip! The cost per map is minimal and it is easy to use.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank pippy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from two weeks driving from Vancouver through the rockies and back through Kelowna. The apps were great. We saw more than we would without them and only used our conventional GPS when it was not available. Heading now to Maui and I have already downloaded the next apps

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank KarmaA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

A good way to get your own personal guided tour that points out highlights that should be visited together with background information on the area and history.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank nicolalT8688RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hello,
We have recently returned from a driving tour around the Rocky Mountains - Vancouver to Whistler, through Prince George to Jasper, then Lake Louise, Calgary, Banff, Kamloops and back to Vancouver! We downloaded Apps on to my iPhone, and WOW! It was so worth the little money for 6 Apps! Once downloaded (which I did from Australia before we left) we didn't need to have the Mobile Data or Data Roaming on at all. We had a conventional GPS, but this little machine gave us hints and invaluable information along the way, making it an enjoyable drive along roads and we were able to take side trips which we would never have known about!

So if travelling along those routes in a car, download some apps or hire the unit as a GPS! Well worth the small amount paid for a high "free" bit of enjoyment!

Date of experience: July 2014
6  Thank flower_rose38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I hired the GyPSy Guide in Vancouver for our tour from Vancouver, Kelowna, Banff, Jasper, Sun Peaks, Whistler & back to Vancouver. We found the guide invaluable, did not miss a highlight and would never have known where to stop at sightseeing points of interest without it.
It is not a conventional GPS. The research that must have been done to obtain the commentary must have taken years. In a nutshell, do not attempt to do The Rocky Mountains without GyPSy.

Date of experience: May 2014
3  Thank GarryODay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews