We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice location, okay ameneties, some negatives” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Clair Hotel - Hostel

St Clair Hotel - Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice location, okay ameneties, some negatives”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I think 3 stars pretty much sums up St. Clair. Not sure what the "hotel" portion is because what we experienced was 100% hostel.

First the positives:

Great location, walkable distance to Granville Street, cheap parking in the building, reasonable price for a shared room, provides bedding.

Negatives:

I don't know what their policy is on smoking but the whole building reeked of pot the whole time we were there. I'm not one to let this bother me if it's just a whiff here and there but this hit you right when you walked in in the evening and was still a problem in the morning. Not pleasant.

There were two restroom stalls on each floor. On our floor one stalls was out of order so we had to go to another floor to use the restroom if someone was taking a long time in one stall.

Showers were okay, no separate kitchen.

The front desk people were nice though. They have wi-fi but it was spotty.

I'm not sure I would recommend this hostel but it was okay for what it was I guess. I was just irked by the pot smell. They really should find some way to prevent that from being an issue.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthwestGirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    34
    24
    17
    14
See reviews for
5
30
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

It seems like there are very inconsistent reviews of this place and I guess I was hoping we would be lucky enough to experience the good things people had been writing. But our experience was pretty awful. The guy at the front desk was completely unhelpful, and didn't give us any information about the place when we arrived. Some of the things that made us dislike St. Clair:
1) The wifi is terrible. We were down the hall on the first floor and there was no wifi in our room. It took a good while for it to kick in, but only when we sat with the laptop in the corridor outside the bathroom.
2) It is unclean. A mouse ran right past me in the corridor near the reception. To me, that is disgusting. The showers were mouldy around the ceiling, and there was very little light in there.
3) There was no fridge on the first floor. We were used to having one nearby, or even in our room, but none to be found near our room or on our floor.
4) Dirty plates and cups were just stacked on a table outside our room.

The room was ok, but the bunk was extremely creaky. Had a sink in the room which was good. Our window looked out onto telephone poles in a very dirty, sometimes noisy lane. No elevators, so if you have lots of heavy luggage, expect to carry it. Nobody helped us with ours.

Some people near the end of our corridor had what sounded like a very good, loud time for a couple of hours late on Wednesday night, waking us up numerous times. That's not the hostel's fault but it sure made the experience a whole lot worse.

It was a pretty cheap place to stay but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I was looking for inexpensive accomodations: clean, safe, good location. St. Clair was great in that regard. The hostel was bare bones but spotless. The bed wasn't very comfortable but the pillows were soft and generous. Ventilation wasn't great and I was afraid to open the windows much because of birds outside. They had some barbs affixed to the outside sill to deter landing, but some were missing. I didn't have much interaction with the staff but the guy at the front desk when I checked in was helpful, although a bit of a "low talker". I am an older woman and felt a bit out of my element, but all in all, a positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Firstly - the reception was warm and i was swiftly checked in :o) From then it went down hill.
The corridore was dirty, dark and my room was situated at then end in a cluster of 3/4 other rooms. Outside the rooms were communal bins (full) a table with dirty pots on and a microwave.
The room was clean and bright with a bunkbed with a double on the bottom and single on top. This was rock hard and squeeked and creaked with every turn!
There was a white blind at the window which did nothing but sheild privacy as thee was a street light beaming a orange light in all night long!
On the 1st floor there were 2 toilets and 2 showers - both left alot to be desired.
With no T in the room to block out noise i was awake from 2am firstly with clubbers arriving back to crash then people waking early, using the showers adn microwave...... needless to say i promplty checked out at 9am and paid double to stay in a hotel - you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammielollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I read a lot of negative reviews for this place but my friends and I thought it was awesome. We stayed two nights and were there for Halloween even. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable. Location AMAZING and service was pleasant because we were never bothered. I would definitely stay there again AND recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siscandela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#3 of 49 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Clair Hotel - Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Clair Hotel - Hostel

Property: St Clair Hotel - Hostel
Address: 577 Richards St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,810 - ₹ 5,966
Hotel Class:1.5 star — St Clair Hotel - Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your St Clair Hotel - Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing