We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Be Sure to ask about the length of journey before paying!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Whales Vancouver

Wild Whales Vancouver
Hobart
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be Sure to ask about the length of journey before paying!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I am kicking myself for not asking how long the trip would be prior to departing! In summary the trip was 8 hours plus. 4 hours to our first sighting, 20 minutes in the area of the orcas (viewing from quite a distance) and 4 hours return to Vancouver!!! Had the check in staff informed us of the distance and duration of the trip we would most certainly have spent our time elsewhere......perhaps at the aquarium where me would have been close up with the sea life! They don't know exactly where they will spot the orcas or other sea life but they certainly have a good idea. I was well prepared with food thank goodness.......the snack is nothing but dry muesli bars and water.

I am sure if you: 1) Ask the duration of the trip.......avoid trips over 3 hours like the plague.....you are completely exposed to the elements...... 2) Take plenty of food and drink 3) Avoid taking children as the vessels are very small and completely exposed.................you will have a enjoyable time!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank PanCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Owner at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hi PanCanada,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your trip. It is true that our trips vary in length from about 3-7 hours. This is stated on both our brochure and website. Since we are a dedicated whale-watching company and many of our guests are interested in viewing Killer Whales specifically we try and provide that opportunity whenever possible. It is rare that a trip will last 7 hours (usually trip length is 5.5 hours) however it does happen about 5-10% if the time. Once found we try and spend one hour with the animals on all trips. Killer Whales are social animals and travel in pods, if the pod is further away from Vancouver we will travel the extra distance to give our guests the chance to observe the animals they have paid to see. Killer Whales are always traveling in search of sufficient food resources and a pod can move 100km per day, therefore we do not know in advance how long a tour will be on a given day.
We always recommend our guests bring lunch with them on the tour and guests are given the opportunity to visit the Granville Island Public Market before getting on board the boat. Being situated next to a world-renowned food market with multiple take-away vendors we do not provide packed lunches for guests as most prefer to select their own lunch at the market. When making a reservation for the tour you also have the choice of booking for our open boat or our semi-enclosed boat. Our open boat is fully exposed to the elements, allowing 360 degree views, but our semi-covered boat has an indoor seating area at the front and open viewing deck at the back, which some people prefer.
Viewing marine mammals in their natural habitat is a unique experience and very different from observing captive animals in an aquarium. We cannot control the animals’ location or their behaviour. We are visitors to their world and we have to respect them and not interfere with their natural behaviours in any way. For this reason we follow the Pacific Whale Watching Associations guidelines for responsible viewing and maintain a 100-200m distance from the animals, shut down our vessel as often as possible and limit our time spent with the animals to a maximum of one hour. Again thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    82
    22
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent day out- best day of my holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I would highly recommend this trip if you are in Vanouver and wanting to see some Orca whales. Wild Whales Vancouver is an ecellent company to go with as they are central to everything so it was very easy to get to and locate on Granville Island.Most trips were out of the city or on Vancouver Island.

They provided us with the water-proof suits,snacks on the boat and binoculars. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the whales which made it an even more enjoyable day and a valuable learning experience. She was studying marine biology at Vanouver University so had a great knowledge of the whales and also the local area. We were recommended a fish and chip shack to go to afterwards which was amazing!! To top it off the weather was perfect and we saw at least eight Orca whales and were able to watch them for the good part of an hour. We saw a variety of other wild life such as a bald eagle, deer, seals and porpoise.

This was an invaluable experiene which I will never forget. I feel that the staff do everything to make the experiene once in a life-time and also promote the dangers whales are facing, and making people aware of these issues.

If I am in Vancouver again I will definatley go on this trip again. Thank you Wild Whales Vancouver!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Wait....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

we planned this whale watching trip for over a month and were not disappointed with the day. Our trip was well organized and very informative. Thomas our guide was terrific! Our trip lasted 6 hours - we saw porpoises, sea lions, seals, 2 bald eagles, and a hump back whale that put on a great show for us. I would do this trip again

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelakmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Owner at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hi Pamela,

Thanks for taking the time to review your trip with Wild Whales Vancouver last October. People often think whale watching season is over by October but we find that some of our favourite days on the water for the entire year are in October when we have a greater variety of species in the area. Hopefully you will get a chance to join us for another tour sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Despite the beautiful weather the suits were very welcome. Bring extra clothing such as scarf, gloves, hat and earmuffs as it gets really chilly out on the water! (we were on the open boat). My husband is 1m97 and we found a suit long enough so no worries there.
The ride out didn't seem too long as we were on the look out for orcas. We found loads near San Juan Islands - I loved that our captain then "drove"parallel to them as we were heading back. We also saw sea lions and a bald head eagle. Our guide said that we had seen about 80 orcas although I'm not sure it was that many but there were a lot of them! The ride back was a bit long but the scenery was just magnificient. In all we spend 6 1/2 hours at sea. As other reviewers have said, don't forget to bring some food!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank StanC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Like a dream come true to see whales in the wild.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Although we didn't manage to see orca today we did see Stellar sea lions, bald eagle, harbour seals and apparently a rare sighting in this area, 3 humpback whales in 2 groups. The whole day was very well arranged. Our on board naturalists were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Our captain, Roger, was also very informative. The open boat orca maru was our home for our 5.5 hour trip and it was very comfortable, the rote tins suits were great as well and truly needed. Would have been all 5's if only for those elusive orcas

Helpful?
1 Thank London_Traveller687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Whales Vancouver also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Wild Whales Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing