We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the Wait....”

Wild Whales Vancouver
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Wait....”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

we planned this whale watching trip for over a month and were not disappointed with the day. Our trip was well organized and very informative. Thomas our guide was terrific! Our trip lasted 6 hours - we saw porpoises, sea lions, seals, 2 bald eagles, and a hump back whale that put on a great show for us. I would do this trip again

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelakmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Owner at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hi Pamela,

Thanks for taking the time to review your trip with Wild Whales Vancouver last October. People often think whale watching season is over by October but we find that some of our favourite days on the water for the entire year are in October when we have a greater variety of species in the area. Hopefully you will get a chance to join us for another tour sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    91
    23
    21
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Despite the beautiful weather the suits were very welcome. Bring extra clothing such as scarf, gloves, hat and earmuffs as it gets really chilly out on the water! (we were on the open boat). My husband is 1m97 and we found a suit long enough so no worries there.
The ride out didn't seem too long as we were on the look out for orcas. We found loads near San Juan Islands - I loved that our captain then "drove"parallel to them as we were heading back. We also saw sea lions and a bald head eagle. Our guide said that we had seen about 80 orcas although I'm not sure it was that many but there were a lot of them! The ride back was a bit long but the scenery was just magnificient. In all we spend 6 1/2 hours at sea. As other reviewers have said, don't forget to bring some food!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank StanC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Like a dream come true to see whales in the wild.”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Although we didn't manage to see orca today we did see Stellar sea lions, bald eagle, harbour seals and apparently a rare sighting in this area, 3 humpback whales in 2 groups. The whole day was very well arranged. Our on board naturalists were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Our captain, Roger, was also very informative. The open boat orca maru was our home for our 5.5 hour trip and it was very comfortable, the rote tins suits were great as well and truly needed. Would have been all 5's if only for those elusive orcas

Helpful?
1 Thank London_Traveller687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
474 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Must do!”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We went out looking for Orca's on a beautiful summer day in September. We decided to take the open boat to be able to experience it best. Wild Whales Vancouver supplied us with a windproof warm suit.

The staff on the boat was very good and committed. Unfortunately it took us a really long time to find whales but hey, you can't control nature of course! In the end we spent 8 hours on the boat, the captain just wouldn't give up. We ended up seeing almost all of the resident Orca's. Awesome experience!

Be sure to bring lunch and snacks though, it can be a long day!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank PaulArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice long boat ride, no whales that day but voucher to return & try again”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A real attempt was made on the 5 hour trip on the comfortable closed boat (access to outside at rear) to find Orcas. We saw Harbor Seals, Bald Eagle and Sea Lion. Since they guarantee a whale sighting, we received nontransferable vouchers for a return trip or as many return trips as it takes. Unfortunately, we're from 2,000 miles away and they were booked for the next day, so we hopefully can travel there again sometime and bring the vouchers with us. The hostess was very cordial and knowledgeable about the wildlife so it was still an enjoyable experience and they see whales about 90% of the time.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Whales Vancouver also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Wild Whales Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing