We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now open with a store front on Robson near Seymour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Japadog

Japadog
Ranked #271 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West End
Vancouver
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Now open with a store front on Robson near Seymour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The line-ups at the hotdog cart located at Burrard and Smithe for an interesting hotdog with a Japanese twist...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Piperbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    149
    61
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Busy for a Reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had been wanting to try a Japadog for a while so when we walked by on our way to the ballet one evening we decided to come back later. This was the restaurant not the stand. At 7 when we first passed people were lined up out on the street in the dark & rain to get in. When we came back at about 10:30 we got the last seats. So it was still busy but not crazy. We eat got a different hotdog so we could compare and both were amazing (unfortunately I can"t remember what they were) so I expect they are all really yummy. I have given the atmosphere a high rating because it is what it is and not trying to be anything other than a whole in the wall.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fairwindstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, british columbia, canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great idea for the casual light meal or snack, often sold by street vendors. Hotdogs with a Japanese twist. Very yummy and very, very popular!

Helpful?
Thank LandL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Gourmet Hotdogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Having heard and read about, we just had to try the Japa Dog in downtown Vancouver. Japa Dog is a street vendor hotdog stand. It has been written up and been on television with great reviews. We weren't disappointed. Often there are long line-ups for the dogs. We had the teri-mayo dogs which are a hot dog with teriyaki sauce, Japanese mayo, onions, and nori. If I missed out any ingredients, then those just enhanced the taste. Although a little pricey at aobut $7.50 a dog, it was worth the experience to try once. I'd probably come back again the next time I'm in the area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thelamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“I love these things, odd as they are”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I love these Japanese versions of a hot dog. They are so tasty, its no wonder on nice days the line is around the block to get one. Its one of my favorite street-food meals, second only to the rice bowls from the Halal Guys in NYC.
The Japadog with the radish is one of my favorites. I haven't braved any of the ones with noodles yet, but I will. You have to try them. It is a real adventure.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samjust08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Japadog also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Japadog? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing