We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gem of Tofino”
Review of Shelter Restaurant

Shelter Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 March 2021

We had the fish tacos & crispy chicken burger with hand cut fries. Everything was yummy with extra special touches. A must visit! Steph was our server & she was delightful & very attentive. Very strict covid measures as well. We'll be back for sure.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 896cindym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (3,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 3,223 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

Worth the wait. Amazing food and friendly service. The salmon was cooked perfectly and the waitresses suggestions were spot on. My husband licked the muscle plate clean it was so delicious. Would definitely go again. Could offer more heat lamps outside when waiting.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank jessicabK8430BI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021

The service was very good. I had a fish taco. It was okay but not as good as the fish taco at Tacofino Food truck.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

We were in Tofino for a couple of nights and wanted a 'better' restaurant. We showed up without a reservation and they were very accommodating. Server was pleasant and service was good. The disappointing part was the food. We had a steak that was not that good nor good value for the price. It was 1/2" thick and tough, though it was cooked to perfection. We also had the crispy brussels sprouts that were drowning in a 1/4 cup of grease at the bottom of the cast iron dish. The fish tacos were piled high with slaw and looked great but the deep fried fish morsels were small, scarce and tasted oily, and the slaw was overdressed and they were swimming in dressing. Overall we were hoping for a nice meal but were disappointed, perhaps we just chose the wrong items.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank phishstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021 via mobile

We went for lunch. The fish and chips were great. My daughter loved the kids salmon and rice, just what she wanted on her birthday. The restaurant is clean and well appointed.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank TaraG967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelter Restaurant also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Shelter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.