We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended restaurant”
Review of Shelter Restaurant

Shelter Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 56 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Recommended restaurant”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Ate only lunch at the Shelter, but it was very good food compared to some other places in the town. The service was excellent. We had the shrimp sandwich and the shrimp were abundant. They also have a nice selection of regional beers. The server brought us some samplings so we could choose just the right one. It is right on the main road into town. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jude3147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,201
    788
    203
    59
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What an inspired lunch!”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This place has unique atmosphere and delivers sophisticated food and drink with the freshest of local ingredients along side a rare glimpse of surf culture. Great space and staff; will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janetville, Ont
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Meals!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Food was excellent, ambience very "surfer" oriented. Great evening!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Took my new fiance here to celerbrate out engagement.

Everything about this place was... well... average.

Don't expect to be blown away.. most of the stuff you can make at home for 1/8 of the price.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yvr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of our Best Meals”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had just finished our whale watching tour with Jamie's Whaling. I was feeling seasick, and hungry..very hungry. Didn't plan on coming here but it was just across the street from Jamie's. Turned out to be one of the best meals of our Canadian vacation!

The chowder was excellent. Perfect to calm your tummy after a whale watching trip. We also had the fish and chips, which was fresh and perfectly cooked. The salmon burger was the special of the day. Unique and very good!

Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelter Restaurant also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Shelter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing