We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Rocks lounge perfect for afternoon or pre-dinner cocktails”

The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 105
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Surveying the panoramic vistas from the westernmost point of Tofino’s idyllic Chesterman Beach, The Pointe Restaurant’s Refined West Coast cuisine and attentive service come gift-wrapped with 240 degree views of the Pacific Ocean, surrounding islands and wildlife. Much of the fresh seafood is fished from the very waters overlooked by The Pointe, and a longstanding focus on locally sourced, high quality ingredients is evident. Dinner is offered on a seasonal à la carte menu, but for the best of the best, try Executive Chef Warren Barr's weekly tasting menu; Daily brunch is a true treat. Out of the ordinary desserts reflect an innovative Pastry program where most everything - from bread to butter to scrumptious chocolate croissants are housemade. An extensive wine list, recognized yearly by Wine Spectator magazine, showcases BC’s finest selections with a broad range of international bottlings. Over 100 Scotch Whiskies and a creative cocktail menu can be savoured in the comfortable On the Rocks Lounge. A true taste of Rustic Elegance On Nature’s Edge - and the West Coast’s best views - are on the menu at The Pointe Restaurant and On the Rocks Lounge.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“On the Rocks lounge perfect for afternoon or pre-dinner cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Love the restaurant....it's Relais and Chateaux for a reason...but what keeps me coming back to the Wick (besides one of my favorite spas on the planet) is the On the Rocks lounge. It's like a perfect perch with this fishbowl view of Chesterman Beach that's beyond gorgeous. Doesn't even look real! The wine and cocktail list is artistry...snacks are great after an afternoon beach walk, and the service is phenomenal. For me it's a ritual stop after the spa....and if you're having dinner it's a great place to start.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    140
    68
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Region Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We dropped by here for a drink as the menu was quite expensive. The drinks were top notch and the view was amazing

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kevincherney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing...........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Two friends and I thought we'd try the Pointe Restaurant during our 3 night stay in Tofino as we'd heard so much about it and were very excited. However it definately didn't live up to our expectations and I now deeply regret not having our one special meal out at the Long Beach Lodge Resort.

The restaurant wasn't particularly busy dispite being Valentines day and yet we were sat at an inside booth tucked away while we saw at least two window tables that weren't used at all.

The wine list was excellent with something for every taste and budget and the menu looked amazing on paper. However our waiter Phillip was a little bullish to say the least. I really didn't like my starter at all (which he recommended!) and he eventually agreed to change it after challenging me to explain to him exactly what was wrong with it.

The food was nice, certainly far from the best I have ever tried but I was also very disappointed in the chefs version of 'traditional' key lime pie! It was anything but traditional! It was a blob of what seemed like tart lime jelly in the middle of a lime flavoured ice-cream and coated in a cinammon crunchy coating. (I personally hate the taste of cinammon). That was covered in a bizarre sugar 'tee-pee' which they poured a warm brandy down. Now I'm a massive fan of nouveau cuisine but this was a perhaps a step too far. Between three of us we couldn't even finish it, it looked beautiful but was just not nice. And anything BUT key lime pie.

Sadly all three of us left feeling disappointed (my Canadian friend was actually quite angry about the experience and service) and would most definately NOT recommend it to anyone that asked us.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Summer747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Summer747,
We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Pointe Restaurant.
We were most disappointed to read that The Pointe Restaurant did not meet your expectations and wish we could have addressed to some further extent the challenges you faced before your dining experience with your friends concluded. Our primary objective is to meet and hopefully exceed every individual guests expectation and I am truly sorry we did not do so for you and your dining companions.
In reading your message it seems that the primary issues were that your server Philip was “a little bullish to say the least” and as stated was not immediately amenable to removing and replacing the appetizer foie gras dish without explanation. The other issue raised was the non conventional Key Lime pie listed on the menu under the conventional dessert options and it not being to your liking. We have as a team reviewed your comments and have addressed both issues raised with your server Philip and Matt Wilson our Pastry Chef. It is our standard to replace any dish not to our guests’ liking and while no guest is ever required to provide a reason, we do ask as a courtesy so we can be better informed by our guests’ feedback. In terms of the dessert, it is our standard to explain our desserts and thereby ensure a good match and avoid disappointment and while we clearly did not avoid disappointment in your case, I do apologize if the explanation was not sufficient. I hope you know we would have been more than willing to replace this with another item if you would have preferred it and I also understand it was removed from the bill.
We would truly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally so that we may fully understand and learn from your experience. Should you have additional information you care to share with us, please feel free to provide your contact information to us through Trip Advisor’s private messaging system or by emailing us directly at sandy@wickinn.com at any time.
Again, we are very sorry that you did not receive the level of service, care and attention that should have been delivered and for which The Pointe Restaurant has earned a reputation for providing to our guests.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Do not get "tasting menu" if you want to drink full glasses of wine.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The tasting menu was supposed to come with four "tasting" size wine for $48 extra. They were so little (1 to 2 oz), literally you can have a few sips and you are done. I ordered a full glass separately and it was $12. You might as well order four full glasses of wine instead of ordering wine with tasting menu. Just a thought.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Firemonkey68,
Thank you for posting a Review of your recent dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant.
It is our goal to provide each and every guest with a culinary and service experience that meets and hopefully exceeds their expectations and we sincerely apologize this was not what you experienced on your recent visit to The Pointe Restaurant.
We pride ourselves on offering an award winning wine list, including wines from around the world and those wines grown right here on the Island and throughout BC., many of which are paired specifically to compliment our tasting menu. The wine pairings for the four course tasting menu are poured at 3 ounces per glass with a 2 ounce dessert wine to finish off the meal, which follows standard industry practice. Please accept our most sincere apology if this did not happen in your case and please be assured that we will be following up internally with all of our team to ensure the appropriate wine pours are provided to each and every guest of The Pointe Restaurant.
As we believe our guests are the very best source of information for continual improvement, we would welcome the opportunity to understand and learn from your experience. As well, we would like to provide you with the experience for which The Pointe Restaurant has earned its reputation of providing to our guests. Accordingly, we would welcome your contact information so that we may contact you personally review your concerns directly. Please feel free to forward your contact information directly to us either through Trip Advisors private messaging system or by emailing us at sandy@wickinn.com at any time.
Again, we are very sorry that The Pointe Restaurant did not meet your expectations and we would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional food, great location, very nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Service was classy, helpful, if at times a bit slow, but considering you don't wish to rush a meal at this place it was not a problem. Food is very original, a bit different, but all tasted great and the server took considerable time to explain what was in each dish. Deserts were a bit non-traditional, my tiramisu cane in parts on the plate, but tasted great, and the "cedar" desert was unusual, but again tasted great.
Overall excellent fine dining, just close your mind to the price, very expensive.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sitko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing