We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Best place ever!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I absolutely loved my stay here. My first advice would be to book ahead with lots of advance notice. I didn't do this (despite having been warned to do so by other travelers) and called about 4 or 5 days before hand. This meant we had to stay in a dorm the first night and a private room the 2nd... but no big deal, we were just thankful they had SOME room. When we swapped rooms, housekeeping were still in the private room sorting it, but they were more than happy for us to put our bags in there and go out for the day.

The kitchen was good, well equipped which made cooking evening meals easy. Eating out in Tofino was incredibly expensive, so the kitchen, combined with the supermarket about a 5 minute walk away was a god send. The dining room has massive windows that overlook the water, and it's so pretty to sit eating dinner watching the sun set.

The location is great, as mentioned, there's a supermarket near by, plus it's within walking distance from the bus stop and the town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    59
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
41
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Whalers on the point in Tofino is a lovely hostel, in a great location with fantastic views across the water. It is clean, with good living space and the bedrooms are spacious. It is busy, so tends to be on the noisier side, but in a social way instead of annoying. Earplugs are a must for any hostel anyway. The staff when we were there, however were unhelpful to the point of rudeness, aloof and seemed to treat it as their space to hang out in, and anyone who was in the hostel was an inconvenience. It is a real shame, as I would imagine it can be fun working in a hostel, meeting like minded people, but they weren't even interested in smiling at you, never mind speaking to you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank borntotramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I travelled in many places (Greece, Italy, Nicaragua, Honduras, Panama, Peru, Burkina Faso, Mali, etc) and this is by far the least friendly hostel that I ever went to. As mentioned by another reviewer, if for any reason you have a problem, the hostel staff won't care and won't respond. In short, this hostel is a backpacker mill.

Our car broke down on the way to Tofino (the clutch was gone) and we ended up being stranded in Port Alberni. We called the hostel immediately to let them know and to request a change of dates with our reservation (not a cancellation just a change of dates). And the staff answered I have no authority, I will charge you anyways. Once we arrived in Tofino one day later, we tried to find the manager who stayed absent the entire time. We got contradictory information (some people said talk to the manager, others said the manager can't do anything talk to the owner), we got yelled at. The place was chaotic and not responsive at all to our plight. To top it all, there were no extra blankets (even though it says that blankets can be provided upon request) and there was sand on our bed (which we let the staff know about) and it was extremely loud! After a whole day of trying to figure out what to do and who to talk to, we finally got a message from the owner via one of the staff. You can have 10$ off if you stay more. That's condescending... In any case, the hostel is not caring at all about its customers and if you have any kind of problem will not respond to you. So reserve at your own risks. It's sad because it ends up being bad business. We were ready to stay more time but chose not to because of the situation. There are other places in town that are great. We ended up staying at the botanical garden's ecolodge. There are other cheaper places. That's what I would advice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in September and was impressed with the location, organisation and cleanliness of the hostel and the service. The views of the ocean from the main floor (common area) and my 4 bed dorm were amazing. The shared kitchen was large with stone benchtops and everything had its place. I would stay here again and would recommend it without any hesitation. The grocery store, liquor store and pub were all less than 5 mins walk away too which is helpful when you're on holidays!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed in the "family suite", which had bunk sleeping for 5, a private 2 piece bath, and a beautiful view of the waterfront. (this room also includes free towels) The showers down the hall had some mould growning in the corners, but seemed otherwise clean. We had no problem with wait times for showers.

The beds were very comfortable and with the door between the common area and the hallway closed, it was very quiet, even on the night I went to bed early.

Everything is clean and the view from the common area (living room/dining room) was beautiful. There is free WiFi, but you have to go out to the common areas to get reception. The kitchen was clean with lots of storage space and all the supplies you will need to make your meals.

Parking is the biggest problem. If you aren't there early, you need (and are told to) double park, but when you do so, you are asked to hand over your keys so they can move your vehicle if the person in front of you needs out. Didn't like that set up, but had no problems because of it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.6 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.6 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.7 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
6.0 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.2 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse

Property: HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Address: 81 West St. | P.O. Box 296, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,572 - ₹ 4,337
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are interested in surfing, fishing, whale watching, storm watching, beach combing or just which to explore Tofino and its exciting arts, culture and restaurant scene, we offer the best value around. Spend your money on adventure not your accommodation. At the end of each day, enjoy a hot drink or a cold brew next to the fireplace in the comfort of our great room overlooking the Sound, or relax in our cedar wet sauna before shooting a game of pool in our games room! Choose from our spacious private suites (2 - pc bathroom), private rooms or shared dorm style rooms, all with 9 ft ceilings and many with breathtaking waterfront views. We look forward to making your experience memorable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whalers On The Point Guesthouse Hotel Tofino
HI-Tofino - Whaler’s On The Point Guesthouse Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing