We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Came for one night, stayed for two!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Came for one night, stayed for two!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Came to Tofino so that a friend could experience the Pacific Ocean for the 1st time! The views from our room were so spectacular that he didn't want to leave... so we stayed a second night! (see the attached pic)

The hotel is not fancy, but it is beautiful! Our room was very clean, nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Compared to other hotels in the area, it was an awesome value for the location (we got a deal for $135 on Sat $118 on Sunday incl.tax)!

The only complaint I had was that they didn't have room service. You can order food from the restaurant, but you have to pick it up! That I found a bit awkward since the food is not cheap at the hotel. The breakfasts are in the 10-14$ range and dinners start at $18 for chicken to $30 for steak and prawns (approx.). I had the filet mignon for $24 and it was great!

You will not be disappointed if you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep... to the sounds of the pacific, with great views and beds!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanGal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    446
    115
    47
    24
See reviews for
288
554
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

A group of friends and I had the chance to spend the night in a block of waterfront rooms at this hotel. The rooms were so luxurious and cozy with the most beautiful view of crashing waves.
The beach was private and although it was fall the weather was beautiful. We had a fire on the beach and retired to our rooms at 11pm. Some of my friends wanted to stay up later and we were worried they would keep us up, but the walls are so incredibly insulated you could not here a thing.
I slept like a baby and awoke to the waves and seals out side on the beach. So beautiful.
Nice to sit on the deck chairs and enjoy a tasty west coast coffee while taking in the view.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Let me start by saying if you want glitz and glamour then this isn't the place for you. If you DO want beautiful views, clean rooms and a pet friendly resort with all the necessary amenities then the Best Western Tin Wis Resort fills the bill. The ground floor units have sliding doors to the expansive lawn in the front and the upper rooms have decks so the fresh air and beauty can be enjoyed. Each room has a refrigerator and full size coffee maker (not one of those 2 cup makers that you put a pancake of pre packaged grounds in). The rooms are large and bright and recently refurbished. The lawn is separated from the sandy beach by a natural vegetation barrier that doesn't detract from the view and there are plenty of paved paths to the beach. The restaurant is attached to the office and provides gourmet eating without the need to leave the property, an especially nice feature.
If glitz is what you desire, there are other properties on McKenzie Beach that will take your rental money and pay gardeners for upkeep, but for the money, the Tin Wis provides you with comfort and convenience. We would be glad to return to the BW Tin Wis.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night in October during a business trip. The hotel is nice, rooms are clean, breakfast was....ok...but what really turned me off was while having breakfast and enjoying the stunning view of the beach a man walked is dog along the path right in front of the restarant windows. The dog stopped 10 feet in front of the windows and did its business while people are trying to enjoy their breakfast and then having its owner pick it up. I think the hotel should consider designating a dog walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pendrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

From the outside this hotel doesn't look like much, i prefer hotels that are all enclosed and accessed through the lobby rather than your room opening onto an open walkway. The rooms had been recently updated inside and looked nice, the 2 beds were comfy and it was really clean. The bathroom a little basic.

The problem we had was that there was poor soundproofing. It sounded like there was a herd of elephants above us, every step they took sounded like a stomp and we could loudly hear drawers opening and closing. my husband asked if we could be moved to the top floor. The hotel was full that night, but the staff were happy to let us move the following night. It was much better on the top floor, although you can hear a lot outside like people walking past (may be due to the massive gap between the door and the frame - bit drafty too).

The hotel is located on a lovely beach, just a few steps away and all the balconies have good views of this.

Room Tip: Top floor room will be quieter
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank praianowedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.0 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.7 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
3.5 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.4 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,892 - ₹ 23,738
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing