We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Tin Wis Resort(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$ 456
US$ 396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
206
113
18
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
113
18
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom condofull kitchencox bay beachwasher dryerhot tubinfrared saunapacific surf schoolgas fireplaceexercise roomground floorcommon roomheated floorsnice amenitiesminute drivehouse keepingstorm watchingown meals
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We were a family of 5 and stayed here. It has it's own cove. The room is nicely setup. It has kitchenette and a service area. Pull out bed at night for my other son. It's modern and works like an apartment hotel. We had a nice stroll around the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKChing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

I had a surprise trip planned for my wife's 40th Birthday. She had been bugging me for years to take her to Tofino. Booked the Cox Bay 1 bedroom suite (Room 11), and they put us closest to the beach for the special occasion. Amenities were very nice, however I could not get the fireplace lit in our room. I think the thermocouple was faulty as the pilot light would not stay lit. Quiet. Nice common room area near the beach with a kitchen to use if you didn't want to use your own, or if you didn't want to run back and forth to your room to the BB-Q. Hot tub was nice, but would be better if the closing hours were extended from 10pm to 11pm, as it's still bright out at 9:30. out of the 3 main beaches, we would rate Long Beach # 3, Cox Bay # 2, and the beach near the Wickaninnish Inn # 1. We were so happy with the resort though that we would come back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

After a disappointing and expensive night at Long Beach Lodge next door, we called over to CBBR on short notice and got a 1 bedroom suite for four nights. This newer resort is low key, modern, tastefully decorated and (in May anyhow) very quiet. The design and landscaping is refreshingly west coast...clean lines, simple, very zen gardens and everything was immaculately maintained. Each unit is a fully functional condo with a full kitchen with dishes and cookware, insuite laundry, dining table, living room with gas fireplace, nice bathrooms and a private patio or deck. We'd already been travelling for two weeks before arriving in Tofino, so it was fantastic to be in such a tidy, fully functioning spot where we could make our own meals, do laundry and walk straight on to the beach at any time.

We were on a "working" holiday, so needed an internet connection...as of May Tofino still didn't have high-speed yet (which in a way, is a nice break from our constantly connected reality in major urban centres), but the low speed was enough to take conference calls via a VOIP connection and send and receive emails. So yes...sadly we still had to work. No streaming of Netflix or the like, just not enough bandwidth. BUT...the big news is that high-speed is coming to the area sometime (we were told) in June or July...as was evidenced by multiple data/tel crews working roadside absolutely everywhere. Good in some ways, but sad in others. So few places left where you are even mildly forced to "unplug" - but I'm sure regular residents of Tofino/Ucluelet with welcome the upgrade.

Only a couple of units have a partial beach view, but we spent all day on the beach, so much preferred this to a hotel room with no kitchen or laundry but with a beach view. There was only one detail that has me giving this property a 4 instead of 5 star rating - which is a design flaw that I'm told the resort is in the process of addressing. At night, there is an entrance light to each unit that goes on automatically, obviously for safe walking at night, but because the front door is frosted glass, and the bedroom door inside is also frosted glass and directly adjacent to the front door, the bedroom literally glows white at night, even with the white roll down blind on the bedroom door pulled down. On our second night we clipped our yoga mat onto the back of the bedroom door and it helped immensely, but if we hadn't had that with us, getting to sleep would have been pretty challenging. I think the resort either needs to change the light design at the entrance, or simply put a blackout blind on either the front door, or the bedroom door, or both. With that done, this would absolutely get a 5 star from me. We'll be back to CBBR - it was just such an easy, relaxed stay. Friendly, professional staff, super clean, great (environmentally sensitive) bathroom products and fantastic beach access.

Room Tip: Odd numbered suites back onto Long Beach Lodge and a public walkway. Get an even numbered suite, they are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YVRme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear britishcOlumbia007,

Thank you for taking a moment to share a brief review on your experience with us in April. We at the resort are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again on your next visit to beautiful Tofino!

We agree that bringing or renting bikes and exploring the beaches or cycling to the Tofino village is a must!

Kind Regards,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We had the most amazing family gathering. The units are spacious, beautiful and well furnished. The beach is just a minute away which makes it convenient for the kids that love to dig in the sand. The hot tub and sauna are great after a surf session or a hike. The staff was friendly, quiet and caring. The Resort is tidy, well maintained and the landscaping is charming; California lilac, lavender, salal... We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank marienoelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear marienoelle55,

Thank you for sharing a review on your recent experience here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to provide details about our property, which may better help future guests in determining if our resort is a good fit for them.

I am thrilled that you cant wait to join us again - We will look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Tofino!

Kind Regards,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

This is a beautiful place to visit. Surfing right out in front of the resort and within a few km. Nice, but small shared hot tub under the stars. Friendly staff and nice rooms with appliances to cook your own meals. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 472claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear 472claire,

Thank you for sharing a review on your recent experience here at the resort. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and rooms to be nice. We here at Cox Bay Beach Resort pride ourselves on having very friendly staff and fully equipped units, which give our guests visiting Tofino that "home away from home" feeling.

We surely hope that you felt that way and hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to our beautiful coast!

Kind Regards,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews