We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottage, gorgeous place, wonderful hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Morning waters
True the window
Fishing
Turtles in spring
Rojitas our rooster
Canoeing
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carli M
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage, gorgeous place, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for some quality R&R away from home. The cottage was compact but felt very spacious because of the vaulted ceilings and because it is well appointed. Everything was spotless and nicely decorated. The location of the cottage was wonderful. It is close to the Crofton ferry, steps away from the lake, and centrally located to town and other things to see and do on the island. The lake is absolutely stunning and the property has a beautiful dock with nice chairs and beautiful flowers to enjoy in the morning for breakfast, in the afternoon for a swim and in the evening for a glass of wine. The property has a wonderful herb garden that the guests are allowed to access and use for their cooking, free range chickens for fresh eggs, access to a hot tub, access to a paddle board and kanoo's. The WIFI is strong and reliable and the kitchen has all of the necessary amenities. Our dogs were allowed to come with us which made the trip extra special for us. The icing on the cake were the wonderful hosts, Tania and Jose. They were so welcoming and friendly. They made us feel like we were long lost family finally coming over for a visit. We didn't want to leave at the end of our long weekend and can't wait to go back. We will make sure to come back every year to enjoy a little bit of the peace and beauty that this island (and this beautiful cottage in particular) has to offer. Thank you Tania and Jose. You made sure we had a fantastic time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amazing location, the cottage was sweet and wonderful, the hosts were so welcoming
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canadabim
canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little cabin”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My friend and I stayed here for two nights. The cabin itself was what we had hoped it would be. It was quiet of course (it is right on a lake in a very rural location) but was not too far of a drive from Ganges. We did not get to swim in the lake because it was a bit too cold when we went but it would definitely have been a perfect spot to swim/canoe had it been hot. We only met one of the owners and she was super nice. Not a big deal, but be aware that the driveway to the cabin was a bit hard to find when it was dark. It is signed so you will find it even if you do pull into a few other driveways before you do. :)
I think overall that if you realize that this is a cabin and not a hotel, you will not be disappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and on the lake
Liked least: Wish we had a day of heat to swim.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Thank you for the review Esther, I am happy you like it and too bad this weekend was a rainy one as much as I love to see the right with such a dry summer. Hope to see you back and I am sending you the $20 pet fee over an e-transfer, Tania
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larisue19...
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“FABULOUS!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

It was wonderful! The cabin was clean, spacious,,,,we had our grand daughter sleep over several nights and all was great. Jose, Tania and their family were so welcoming and made us feel comfortable and at home. The lake was inviting, cooling and so relaxing. Fresh eggs and plums were enjoyed and being surrounded by musical talent lulled us to sleep at night!
The place is close to nature but not far from town.
We hope to visit Salt spring soon and this will be our place to go!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all was wonderful....but loved being on the water
Liked least: we had to leave!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
It was so nice meeting you and your family, we hope to see you back when you visit Salt Spring again, thank you for the wine and card, Tania and Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa T
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet little cottage on the lake”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have to admit, my two girlfriends and I were a little hesitant to stay at Magic Lamp due to a couple of the reviews, but we were very pleasantly surprised by our stay. It's true that the cabin is a little set back from the lake (behind the main home) but it's still quite private, and has it's own little porch. The property has a beautiful private dock that we spent the day on, with access to a kayak and canoe. There is also a hot-tub on the property but since it is quite close to the main residence we didn't feel all that comfortable using it (even though the family was VERY friendly and polite and offered us use of it a couple of times)

The cabin is quite small, but was perfect for 3 people (it may have been a bit tight to fit 4 adults as the fold-out futon couch was fairly small).

The only constructive feedback I would give is that while all of the linens in the kitchen and in the bedroom were clean, there were some sheets in the closet that were dirty (to be honest, they smelled like a pet had been sleeping on them). But the owners were more than happy to provide extra sheets.

All in all an absolutely WONDERFUL stay at Magic Lamp cabin; we had a fantastic, relaxing 2-night stay. I have already recommended the cabin to others.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica Z...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and relaxing.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cabin! There were 4 of us staying there and we would all definitely go again, the cabin is super cute, with everything we needed for our 5 night stay. The owner Jose was around and was very nice and helpful. The location is to die for, the lake is less than 30 seconds from the cabin and there was a canoe and floaties to use on the lake. The dock is amazing for tanning. We all had a wonderful time and couldn't believe how tranquil it was.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing