We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
Nearby Hotels
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast(Salt Spring Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
19
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoes and paddle boardscutting boardprivate lakecookie sheetbird callscovered deckliving roomlife jacketsshort driveenjoyed our staysalt springbullockduplexesdishwasherlakeviewovengeese
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

This is an interesting place. It's a number of homes and duplexes that are apparently for sale. You pay for your room and get an email to tell you your cabin number and the code for the keypad at your cabin. Check that email and drive right to your cabin. We didn't and showed up at the reception - the receptionist wasn't there, but the cleaning guy was out front apparently doing repairs on his car out front. He launched into a very strange tirade about how he didn't know what was going on there, no one gave him good instructions on how to interact with guests, he felt very uncomfortable working in a place that was so confusing, that he thought things were for sale but didn't know what the deal was with it... That was a weird introduction to the place.

Anyhow, the cottage was actually more of a large house and it was very clean (good job cleaning guy!) and was a very good value. It's a nice option for staying on Salt Spring Island. It was huge and would be a great place to go with a group of friends. It had the feel of semi-abandonment- the landscaping was overgrown and there weren't many other occupied cabins.

In sum: great place to stay for a clean, comfortable house on Salt Spring Island, but you have to look past the feeling that it's quasi-abandoned.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank EndofNinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 October 2017

Hi
Thanks for your comments on the Cottages. Just a couple of small notes. We do send emails to everyone on their door codes but we are finding that not everyone reads their emails and our back up measures of having a Manager On Duty phone doesn't always connect us with guests so our apologies. We only rent 25 of the 50 cottages here and during our off season times it does get a bit quiet. Your comments on value are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Fantastic price, good quality furniture, tastefully decorated, great kitchen stuff. They are pet friendly so we brought our dog along and he had a blast. Not just one but two patios with great chairs to sit out on. Modern fireplace (which we couldn't figure out how to turn on, think the remote needed a battery), TV with Wifi and great music channels. Kitchen had good quality stuff and everything we needed. The lake is tiny and they have canoes to paddle around. You sure couldn't get lost but it looked like fun.

It was supposed to be a lakeview suite but it was more of a peek a boo view. Mostly we saw the cottages in front of us and a lot of evergreen trees.

My only complaint and the reason it didn't get 5 stars was the sloppy cleaning. There was garbage left on the counter, I had to wipe down the countertop beside the stove, the ice trays reeked, fan in bathroom is full of dust, under couch cushions there was food and dust. Nobody swept under the couch which I could see from the chair. The patio was not cleaned there was paper and blobs of dirt and leaves. The thing that got me the most though was a hair on the pillowcase that I know was not ours.

You guys need a checklist for the cleaners and one of the owners or managers should be spot checking to see if they are complying. Cause if that were the case I would really be raving about this place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JER58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 October 2017

Thanks for your review here . We appreciate the comments on cleaning and are currently reviewing our systems and doing a deep clean on every unit. We hope to see you back here sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

If your looking for an amazingly secluded, quiet and refreshing spot, you've found it.
They basically are cabins on a quiet serene lake with all the amenities of two bedroom condominiums.
Fully outfitted kitchens, super comfy beds, canoes to use, paddle boards to use and a little dock to pass your time.
Wander for hours, explore and relax.
Minutes away from away you need or want on saltspring, yet it feels like your miles away from everything

We will be back

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 October 2017

Jo D
Thanks for your comments here. It sounds as if you had a great getaway. We hope you can return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

New, well equipped and tastefully decorated cabins made our stay wonderful.
I would recommend this resort for a family trip or a couples getaway.
And it's pet friendly!!
I saw a BBQ shack but didn't use. Also a new dock with paddle boards and a canoe for guests to use.

We spent our evenings and morning coffee time on the covered deck.

I wish we had longer to stay on Salt Spring Island.
Try to get a cabin lake front. Although it looks like they would all have a decent lake view.

Local pizza restaurant "Uptown Pizza" delivers a fantastic pizza!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wks880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We were so impressed with the cottage. It was exactly what we wanted. The condo was modern and well stocked with everything we needed. The deck was so inviting with a great view of the lake. We enjoyed canoeing around the lake in the evening and swimming in the lake. The staff was eager to please with anything we needed and was done in a timely manner. We absolutely loved loved our stay and will definitely be back next year. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank happycooker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 September 2017

We're very pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews