We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
Nearby Hotels
US$ 162
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabreeze Inne(Salt Spring Island)
US$ 143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mineral Springs Resort(Salt Spring Island)
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 156
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Salt Spring Inn(Ganges)(Great Value!)
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skipping Stone Beach B&B(Salt Spring Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cusheon Lake Resort(Salt Spring Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Salt Spring(Salt Spring Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maple Ridge Cottages(Salt Spring Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
19
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoes and paddle boardscutting boardprivate lakecookie sheetbird callscovered deckliving roomlife jacketsshort driveenjoyed our staysalt springbullockduplexesdishwasherlakeviewovengeese
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had a fantastic stay. The cottage we stayed in was very nice and in great condition. The kitchen was great and had most things, though could use a cutting board and maybe just a small bottle of olive oil. Housekeeping was pretty good overall - the place was clean - there were a few little issues but management was responsive when they were raised and it was all sorted. The woman in the office was very friendly and helpful and the other staff we met seemed nice.

We stayed down by the lake and it was great - the lake is small enough that we could let our kids be a bit more independent, while still keeping a close eye on them. The canoes and paddle boards were great. The life jackets could use an airing - the big plastic chest for storing them needs to have some drainage holes drilled at the bottom, so they don't stay wet (oh, and get rid of the soggy box of waiver forms) from the water pooled at the bottom. The dock is a bit small and could use some expansion as it was popular. It got a bit crowded in the afternoon, especially with people bringing their dogs down (which was fine, but the dogs would have done better w/ a bit more space).

Overall, it was an extremely relaxing stay. Bring your food and you don't have to leave the property, you can just hang out and swim and paddle and relax. There is cable and wifi.

Room Tip: down by the lake
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaNaka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Thanks for your feedback on your recent visit. We have removed the soggy waiver box and replaced it with a plastic one and we're working on the drainage. Each room has a cutting board but it's the same colour as the inside of the drawer we've placed them in and you're not the first person to mention this so we're going to place them in a more visible location. We hope you can return soon!
Mike Duggan - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Our stay was absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. We love the lake access and view. We enjoyed the complimentary canoes and paddle boards. The space was so nice and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed eating on the deck and the openness of the space.
I would highly recommend this place. The only things that needed improvement were, our check in time was delayed an hour or more because of house keeping, there were a few things left dirty/messy (coffee pot, some dishes..) and they seemed to be missing a few essentials like a cutting board, sharp knives, non-stick spray. And the shower was super cool but has no caddie or shelf to put shampoo or soap on.
So, over all it was more than a pleasant stay and we'll definitely be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Murraè W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017

Hi Murrae
Thank you for your feedback, we're pleased you enjoyed most parts of your stay. Our apologies over the late check in. We're working at all aspects of our housekeeping and we clearly still have some work to do here. We do have cutting boards and sharp knives in all units but haven't been stocking the non stick spray. That's a good idea that we'll look into.
Mike Duggan - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This is a wonderful small resort - ideal for all ages. The lake is serene and quite private and is large enough for canoeing or fishing, yet small enough that children are always within sight. It has a small wharf with deck chairs and a couple of canoes free for guests to use and the natural vegetation has been preserved - we woke to the sound of birdlife and saw pileated woodpeckers and osprey from the deck. Our cottage was newly renovated and well appointed, with lovely views of the lake. The main floor was open plan so no-one was "stuck in the kitchen". The only thing the cottage lacked was a dishwasher; perhaps some other cottages at the resort have them.The staff were all friendly and very helpful. As always, I would strongly recommend booking directly with the resort as we have had issues when booking with companies such as Hotels.com. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All the cottages are close to the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marynance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 August 2017

Mary
We're pleased you enjoyed your visit so much. I believe you mentioned everything we find special about our place. One note, we're doing our best for water conservation so there are no dishwashers in any of the cottages.
Hope you can return sometime soon.
Mike Duggan - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

These cottages are cute, but NO a/c very stuffy, the ceiling fan couldn't be used as it squeals, the house smells moldy, couldn't breathe in the morning very damp smelling. Far too expensive unless there are more than a couple sharing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaguarlady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 July 2017

Thanks for your feedback and we're sorry you didn't have a better stay. We've gone back into that cottage and fixed the fan. We've also aired out the downstairs bedroom to get rid of the damp smell you mentioned. I hope you'll try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We went to the cottages on Salt Spring for a little under a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage we stayed in was outfitted excellently with a bathroom on every level, spacious bedrooms and a full kitchen and living room. The Cottages provides a few canoes and paddle boards which made for a fun addition to our small holiday. The kitchen was well suited to preparing meals easily and the living room/ deck provided a nice place to relax when we weren't out and about the island.

Located only a five minute drive from the main village, Ganges, the cottages were nice and central to most activities on the island and even the southern most parts of the island were only a short drive away.

Overall, we had a great time staying at the Cottages on Salt Spring and would definitely return if we ever vacation on Salt Spring again.

Room Tip: Cabins 30ish-40ish if you want shade.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmyhilljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2017

Thanks for your feedback, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews