We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
Nearby Hotels
Wisteria Guest House B&B(Ganges)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 181
US$ 172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armand Heights Bed and Breakfast(Salt Spring Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Seabreeze Inne(Salt Spring Island)
US$ 134
US$ 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 155
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highgarden B&B(Salt Spring Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salt Spring Inn(Ganges)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company(Salt Spring Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House(Fulford Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 429
US$ 338
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
19
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoes and paddle boardscutting boardprivate lakecookie sheetbird callscovered deckliving roomlife jacketsshort driveenjoyed our staysalt springbullockduplexesdishwasherlakeviewovengeese
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017

These cottages are cute, but NO a/c very stuffy, the ceiling fan couldn't be used as it squeals, the house smells moldy, couldn't breathe in the morning very damp smelling. Far too expensive unless there are more than a couple sharing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaguarlady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 July 2017

Thanks for your feedback and we're sorry you didn't have a better stay. We've gone back into that cottage and fixed the fan. We've also aired out the downstairs bedroom to get rid of the damp smell you mentioned. I hope you'll try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We went to the cottages on Salt Spring for a little under a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage we stayed in was outfitted excellently with a bathroom on every level, spacious bedrooms and a full kitchen and living room. The Cottages provides a few canoes and paddle boards which made for a fun addition to our small holiday. The kitchen was well suited to preparing meals easily and the living room/ deck provided a nice place to relax when we weren't out and about the island.

Located only a five minute drive from the main village, Ganges, the cottages were nice and central to most activities on the island and even the southern most parts of the island were only a short drive away.

Overall, we had a great time staying at the Cottages on Salt Spring and would definitely return if we ever vacation on Salt Spring again.

Room Tip: Cabins 30ish-40ish if you want shade.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmyhilljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2017

Thanks for your feedback, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

The Cottages is such a great place to stay. We enjoyed our two nights there very much. Getting away to nature without actually being that far away and having all the amenities of home was definitely a bonus. Highly recommend staying at this property. :)

Room Tip: The Llamas like hanging out near cabins 42-48 ;)
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hiplytragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C, Social Media Marketing at The Cottages on Salt Spring Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review The Cottages. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

What a fantastic place to stay. It was easy to book online and we received a detailed email a couple of days before arriving. The cabin was beautifully decorated and had all of the amenities (including kitchen supplies, utensils, etc.) required to enjoy our stay.

The cottages are just a few kilometers from the main town and local pubs, but feels like you are miles away on a peaceful lake in the woods; eagles soaring and birds feeding their young among the trees.

It was a nice surprise to have two canoes and paddle boards with life jackets provided. The Llamas were also a great touch.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brewster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C, social media marketing at The Cottages on Salt Spring Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

What a great review! Thank you for that and we are thrilled you had a wonderful time. You got to meet our resident eagle! If you got an image of him please share it. So far he has been hard to spot. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

If you have been feeling the need to get back in touch with nature but aren’t into roughing it then these beautiful new cottages should be your destination. The only downside to our visit this past weekend was having to leave. The cottage was spacious, impeccably clean and very comfortable. My boyfriend and I enjoy quality time together on the outside deck soaking in the incredible energy that is created by the wildlife in Bullock Lake. The various types of birds, crickets, frogs, insects etc create this truly magical music that resonated deep inside me. Just when I thought it couldn’t get any better 2 resident llamas strolled by followed by a family of geese…amazing! Salt Spring Island itself is a fantastic place to tour. We bought some wonderful locally made food from the Saturday Farmer’s Market, got inspired by the artisans, visited a few local restaurants and took a scenic drive up Mt. Maxwell. A completely fabulous weekend. I’m looking forward to staying at the cottages.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ShubenacadieShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C, Social Media Marketing at The Cottages on Salt Spring Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

We are so glad you were able to experience the natural beauty of the property at The Cottages and find the magic that Salt Spring Island has to offer. It is a truly special place. Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews