We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally mislead by reviews”
Review of Rossland Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rossland Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rossland
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“totally mislead by reviews”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I just stayed at the motel and I was definitely intrigued by the rates and reviews, but I wouldn't do it again. This place may be set up for the winter tourists well, but for the summer, it's lacking, even for the price (59+tax). Not a huge thing, but the blinds don't keep out the light, so when sunrise is 8am, it's all good... when it's 5am... not cool.... whole room is lit right up. I am up at 6am writing this... that said my wife is still out cold haha My other major complaint is that the mattress is noisy, bouncy and in a horrific U shape, so I spent most of my night srambling to keep to my side. We also had no water pressure at all in the sink anytime the neighbouring room was using any form of water. It's also old. BUT that is what i expecting for the price... another review mentioned new baseboards.. haha noooot in this one. The first thing i noticed was the smell too, it's not strong at all, but it does smell really old. The shower head was loose in the wall, and the room doesn't automatically come with soap and shampoo packets like every other place I have stayed....... ON THE UPSIDE!!!..... free wireless, tv, it's clean, minimal road noise, and the reception girl... Jennifer I assume, is really nice!
I think if we stay here again we will stay up the road for $79 and get a free brekkie at least!
ps...If you think I am just being a negative nancy.... you could check the rest of my reviews... all positive.

Room Tip: Sleep in the bed by the door in the double room...it's the firmish one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bc_expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgilhula, Manager at Rossland Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
I am sorry you felt mislead by the previous reveiws. I work really hard to ensure that everyone that stays at the Rossland Motel has a pleasant experience. I appreciate your feedback as that is how I know of deficiencies and can work to improve them. I didn't notice a smell in the room when I cleaned it. I would have offered to put you in a different room had I known. I have replaced the bed and purchased an Ozonator to eliminate any future room odors. I have phoned a plumber to come and investigate the water pressure problem as I don't have any problems in any of the other rooms. I have phased out suppling the rooms with shampoo, etc. packets and am introducing wall dispensers in favour of a more enviromentally responsible approach (there has always been a hand soap pump in the room). Unfortunately at the time of your stay I had run out of the packets and my bulk jugs had not yet arrived. I did have a small selection of travel size amenities available in the office upon request.

Thank-you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoquiam, WA
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2011

What a great place, whether it's for one night or a week. The owner, Jenn and her son are so nice. Kinda feels like staying with family ... family you like! lol

Cute clean rooms, nice to have a kitchen to make my own meals! Hot tub, room to wax your skis, ... ski hill is practically just around the corner. What more could I want?! :o)

Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn_chick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochrane, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Our family stayed at the Rossland Motel in February for a ski trip to Red Mountain.
There were 2 rooms, living/diningroom kitchen and bathroom. There was also a fouton for sleeping. We used the hot tub and sauna. I found it clean and homey after a tiring day of skiing.
The kitchen was fully furnished with dishes, pots/pans, coffeemaker, toaster. The stove was full-sized as well as the fridge.
Jennifer (manager) was very pleasant and accomodating. There were also DVDs available in the office to borrow.
I wondered about the noise level at the motel as it is right on the highway, but I didn't notice any road noise. There was a lot of snow, so that may have absorbed some noise, but no complaints.
We definitly plan to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

4 of us stayed at the Rossland Motel for the Rubberhead Festival Seven Summits Poker Ride. We definitely chose the right accomodation for our visit. As mentioned the rooms are simple, but fresh paint, new baseboards, and a clean functional kitchenette make one feel comfortable. It is obvious that care is given to the rooms, and the atmosphere is very relaxing. The hotel is across the street from the Lions Campground where Poker Ride festivities wrapped up after the ride, very convenient. A heartfelt thanks for a great room to relax and the hottub for sore muscles! We are coming back next year, so I hope this review does not hamper our chances for accomodation for Poker Ride 2011. However, Jennifer really does deserve your business.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Hound_Kelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Had the pleasure of staying 3 weeks at the Rossland Motel in Jan/Feb 2010.

The sole intention of the trip was to shread Red or more specifically Granite Mountain in the Red Mountain Resort. The motel's location is perfect for visiting Red (10mins in a car) and the town of Rossland (5mins in a car).

The room I stayed in was very clean, good facilities including a kitchen with all necessary applicances and well maintened. The room also offered free wireless coverage. The motels' management team - Jen and Andy were super friendly and made it a real enjoyment to stay there.

There is a common wax room for all necessary board/ski maintenance and private lockers to store your prized equipment.

In addition there motel has a most excellent outdoor hot tub which was is a godsend after a hard day out on the mountain.

All in all, the Rossland Motel is excellent value for money. I don't believe anyone can go wrong by staying at the Rossland motel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiSurfBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossland
1.5 km away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
3.1 km away
Red Mountain Village
Red Mountain Village
#2 of 4 in Rossland
25 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa Alpina
Casa Alpina
#4 of 4 in Rossland
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
8.2 km away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
27.3 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossland Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossland Motel

Property: Rossland Motel
Address: 901 Paterson Hwy, Rossland, British Columbia V0G 1Y0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Rossland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rossland
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,419 - ₹ 6,697
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rossland Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The Rossland Motel is a cozy, family owned and operated motel. We are 1.5km to the picturesque town of Rossland and 4km to the legendary Red Mountain Ski Resort. Hiking and biking trails are easily accessed right from your door. We are the perfect accommodation for the budget conscious traveller with fully equipped kitchens. Choose from a studio kitchen or our spacious two bedroom kitchen suite. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rossland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossland Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing