We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional Value”

Parkside Resort Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prince Rupert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkside Resort Motel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Functional Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed here for 2 days before boarding the ferry for Alaska and found the motel to be clean, quiet and very functional - you could pull up to the door of the room to load/unload your vehicle. The staff was very helpful and considerate. I would recommend it for the budget traveler who is looking for accommodations in Prince Rupert. There is a McDonald's adjacent to the property and you are a short drive from the downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
7
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have stayed here several times over several years, so it suits me. Very basic but clean and fine for sleeping. I am happy to return. But check that your room (Room 30) does not have a water pump housed right outside its bathroom wall. You'll know if that's the room: lie on the bed to feel the mini-massage and buzz from the vibration! I didn't notice how annoying this was until late in the evening, so I didn't want to bother the (very nice) owners. So, I chalked it up to bad luck and slept on my camp mattress and sleeping bag on the floor by the door, as far away from the pump as possible! I survived, but you may want to check your room for this amenity before you settle into the room!
Other rooms that I have used in the past have been fine, if you are comfortable with the basic level (sixty's, as another reviewer writes!)..

Room Tip: Avoid Room 30: loud annoying buzz from water pump outside bathroom wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Traveller99ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

As a senior (67), I have always received service with respect and accommodation that is very acceptable to me. I have repeatedly stayed at this motel over the past couple of years. Hannah has always provided excellent service whenever I contact her.

Room Tip: Contact Hannah and tell her that Pat recommended her excellent service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowman4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Upon arrival at the motel, we immediately knew that we made a mistake. We had booked a reservation for the "Parkside Resort Motel" for 3 nights, but upon arrival we quickly realized that we wouldn't be able to survive 3 nights in this place, so we quickly phoned Totem Lodge to secure a reservation for nights 2 & 3, and then informed Parkside that we would only be staying one night.
- they had put us into Room #52, which looked like a bottom-floor, afterthought addition to the garage behind their office.

Let me list the problems:
-many paint chips on the door, in need of painting.
-Radiator heater that no one knew how to operate, and that was heating on a hot summer's night.
-2 small high windows, with poor venetian blinds, with sticky (like dried orange juice) handles. Light from outside neon sign shining through the blinds all night.
-Fridge that loudly shuddered and groaned every time it turned off & on, right near the bed.
-Closet with shelves that were ready to fall apart.
-TV stand placed above table so that you clunked your head when you stood-up.
-Odd raised bathroom, a foot above the rest of the small room's floor.

The owners of the motel seemed nice, but I think they need to choose a different business to run, as they don't have the skills or inclination to run a decent motel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flugel-the-Horn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prince Rupert hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We clearly seem to have been staying in a different motel to some of the other raters for this accommodation. If this is one of the best in Prince Rupert, I dread to think what the competition is like. Our room was dated, smelled strongly of damp and had a bedroom and bathroom with no windows or ventilation. It is a stay we would like to forget and we got up early and left as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSP19711970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
1.4 km away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.4 km away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.3 km away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.4 km away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.4 km away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Resort Motel

Property: Parkside Resort Motel
Address: 101 11th Ave E, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 4N9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,549 - ₹ 4,202
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Prince Rupert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing