We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have to stay in Prince Rupert, just stay here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you have to stay in Prince Rupert, just stay here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I gave this hotel an average for a few reasons. First of all, unfortunately in Prince Rupert, you aren't going to get much better. It feels moderately safe and clean. Last time I stayed there, the drunks on the street kept me up for a long time but I was a little too freaked out to tell them to shut up. Plus, the door to my balcony didn't lock. That's unsettling. But you do get nice views of the water and the scenery around PR which is very beautiful. Don't expect to be wowed, but this an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HealthInspektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    23
    21
    16
    17
See reviews for
15
16
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Not much going for it, but ok for a night's stay if you are catching the early BC ferry and need somewhere to put you head. We did two nights. Breakfast portions were a good size but not included in rate. Staff in restaurant helpful and friendly (only area that seemed to be!). Only one filter coffee per day provided in the room even though there was two of us. Bottom of iron was dirty and we had to clean before use. When we asked if they could help us with travel information the staff looked a bit surprised and no information was forth coming. WIFI wasn't working on the first night and reception staff member didn't seem to want to do anything about it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelybilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skookumchuck
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

On a budget, and easily booked on line.Bus to the front door.Big clean room where everything worked, and I found it quiet with a view from the 9th floor. Its not fancy, and is a big concrete slab but staff were good. Wireless connections were no good except in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

I travelled to Prince Rupert on business and booked this place with some idea of where it was. It is a concrete box with no underground parking unless you are a resident of the hotel. Though it was only 15 degrees (60 farenhiet) the room was hot. The only way to cool down was to keep the window open which let in all the street noise. I had a scenic view of the burned out building across the street. I had dinner down the street at the Crest and would definitely book there next time, despite some of the reviews I have read on that establishment. In the morning I asked about the exercise room and was told that none of the machines were in working order. There is nothing about this place to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedcBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prince Rupert hotels

ONTARIO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

This hotel has a 3 1/2 star rating and it should not. It should be a 1/2 star

The Quarterdeck in Port Hardy has a 3 1/2 star rating and it should be a 4 star.

One hotel cares the other does not.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MIKEY6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.1 km away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.7 km away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 km away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.8 km away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 815 1st Avenue West, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,293 - ₹ 6,519
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, a 17 storey high-rise, has the following convenient features: Hair salon, car rentals, wireless high-speed internet access, 24 hour front desk, safety deposit boxes, automated wake-up service, guest room voice mail, complimentary newspaper, self-serve guest laundry facilities, free underground parking and pet friendly rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony with various views of the mountains and water. For your convenience our nonsmoking rooms have a mini fridge and microwave. It is our pleasure to welcome you to Prince Rupert whether this is your first time here or many returns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highliner Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing