We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Suites and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterfront Suites and Marina
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Sechelt, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Lobby was freezing cold. Desk Agent had space heaters set up around her to keep her warm. Our room was freezing cold and the bathroom was a disgusting, dirty, moldy room with an unusable shower. We were told that after 9pm if we needed anything we needed to dial 0 and talk to onsite management. All that happened when we phoned to complain that there was no hot water was a loop that told us over and over again how to leave a message on our room phone. I asked to speak with management when we checked out and the morning front desk agent couldn't get in touch with them either. About the only good thing I can say about this place is that we didn't have to worry about bed bugs or other creepy crawlies...it was too cold for anything to be able to survive!

Room Tip: Don't bother trying to choose a good room. It doesn't exist in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    1
    3
    12
See reviews for
7
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Don't ever stay at this hotel. They rip you off huge.. we were told we were not being charged for a terrible night's stay with no air conditioning, smelly room, old and deteriorating.. I was sickened by this place. Then the charges on my credit card stayed, $140 for a horrifying experience, I asked them to reverse this and they would not. So if they tell you they are giving you a better deal, or crediting your card, don't believe them. Just don't go there.. really sucks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

It was an old building. Scary, the reception area closed at 9 pm. We were the only people in that huge motel and we did not know that until early the next morning. The 2nd day, we were still the only customers there. They are renovating so the building are very smell of paint. Our room was the last room in the long hallway, scary. They dont allow seafood in the room that made me very mad because we were there to pick clams and oysters. The kitchen provided with very cheap equipments. Dont stay there, sleep in the car would make you feel safer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Autumm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Website states that they under renovations....they haven't started.....this place is in extreme need of repairs. Location is excellect....close to the marina and wall walk....the inside of the units are frightning...dirty...I should have slept in my car...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

Don't be fooled by the fancy new name, Waterfront Suites and Marina. The place is a mess. We'll go back to the downtown hotels and B & Bs where we were warmly welcomed and thoughtfully cared for. The friendliness that makes Nanaimo special is not in evidence here. The treatment we received was shocking. On arrival, our credit card was swiped twice – for the room charge (with insistence that we pay for the whole stay in advance) and again for a “security deposit” four times the usual amount. We travel widely for business and pleasure, and have never been treated this way, even in big cities and distant countries. They advertise kitchenettes, but guests are not permitted to cook seafood – in a waterfront marina motel! We were told there is a strict no-smoking policy, but the whole place stank of smoke, from regular cigarettes and also the illegal kind. When we asked why the room was not cleaned they said the cleaner didn't come in - no offer of a refund; not even an apology. It’s no surprise that their other place, the Grand Hotel, gets bad reviews. The owners plan to do more building, with a possible high rise that would ruin the waterfront. I can't believe they would pass a health and safety inspection. They talk about renovating rooms to "upgrade the decor." It's sanitation, business practices, and attitudes that need upgrading.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank visitingprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.7 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
6.9 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
1.1 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
9.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Suites and Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Suites and Marina

Property: Waterfront Suites and Marina
Address: 1000 Stewart Ave, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4C9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,584 - ₹ 6,701
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterfront Suites and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Oceanfront Accommodation in Nanaimo; Watching Sun-Rising on your bed; BBQ facility; All Unit full kitchen; Oceanview Balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfront Suites and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Suites And Marina Hotel Nanaimo
Moby Dick Oceanfront Nanaimo
Waterfront Suites And Marina Nanaimo, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing