We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Painted Turtle Guesthouse
Lustenau, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and Nice”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

It was a very nice woman at the reception. The rooms and bathroom/shower are very clean, you get even a towel. There is a nice living area, where you can cook and spend the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustriaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    46
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
38
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at this hostel. It's right in downtown Nanaimo so everything is within walking distance. Upon arrival we were given a tour of the guesthouse which included a very clean, bright great room with a spotless kitchen and also laundry facilities. We opted for a private double room which was clean and located on the 3rd floor. We had a great time exploring Nanimo and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor located on the back side which turned out to be reasonably quiet. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masset, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on our trip to the north of the island. Staff were very welcoming and helpful showing us to our rooms and all the amenities. Guesthouse was very tidy. Kitchen was well equipped and spacious communal area. Rooms had plenty of space the only minor downside was very very squeaky beds. Great value place to stay. Would recommend to anyone and stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doolia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Painted Turtle. The staff were friendly and inviting and the place was comfortable and clean. We showed up for a late check-in on the Friday night of a busy weekend and had no trouble.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller400_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The hostel is right in the heart of town. However, the downside of this means that it has no parking lots and waiting areas for those who are driving to unload their luggages. Stopping directly outside the hostel in the 2 lane road might attract a couple of stares and horns as cars overtake your vehicle. On the other hand, this is the only negative about my stay there. The room and bathroom are extremely clean. The room is quite spacious and the sheets are soft and comfortable. It is also beautifully decorated like a hotel. They have a modern and large cooking/hanging out area as well. The staff is friendly, polite and well-informed. In essence, picture what an ideal hostel should look like and it would translate to Painted Turtle.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchrishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,430 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
0.6 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
299 reviews
2.1 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
501 reviews
8.2 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Turtle Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Turtle Guesthouse

Property: Painted Turtle Guesthouse
Address: 121 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 3A2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Nanaimo
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,795 - ₹ 5,320
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Painted Turtle Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the newest, freshest and funkiest accommodation in Nanaimo, then you've found it - the Painted Turtle Guesthouse.We opened July 2004, in a fully renovated and refurbished 1913 heritage building. Located in the heart of the waterfront/arts district downtown, we are among the trendy cafes & restaurants, pubs & clubs, art galleries, bakeries, street performers and local points of interest.The Guesthouse is extremely well appointed and has received the highest possible standard available as a BC Approved Accommodation. We are also an affiliated Hosteling International Property. All features have been designed with the active traveler in mind, but we have thrown in a few special features. The Great Room, in the heart of the building features a fully self-contained kitchen and spacious dining area, lounge with fireplace, games, books, magazines and computers. We provide free WIFI throughout the property. The bathrooms are all centrally located and private use. All linens and towels are provided free of charge and laundry services are available onsite. Breakfast options and essential store are located in the lobby for your convenience. We have 3 room types catering to every type of traveler. Classic -private room with queen sized bed, private Family rooms with queen sized beds and bunk beds, or dorm style accommodation. Lockers/charging stations are provided in all shared accommodation.Gateway to internationally acclaimed Vancouver Island, Nanaimo is the “Harbour City” and features a fabulous ocean-side location. Easily accessible by ferry from downtown Vancouver, and is a great base camp to venture to other Island destinations. Experience the Island’s natural beauty, attractions, and endless recreational and adventure pursuits! We look forward to meeting you and making you stay in Nanaimo memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Painted Turtle Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Turtle Guesthouse Nanaimo, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing