We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent home with a perfect view”
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Oceanfront with views on both levels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Oceanfront with views on both levels
Front door to main house and access to the ocean front patio
Enjoy your morning coffee from the upper deck with a gorgeous view
Your sunrise as the house faces east
Your beach directly in front of the house
Your view from the kitchen into living room, dining room and the ocean
The convivial gourmet kitchen and bar seating for 4 people
The open kitchen has views of the ocean. The dining room has seating for 8 to 10 people.
A large gas fireplace warms the living room. Gorgeous views from every angle.
This is Octavia the octopus, our house mascot. This picture was taken by our guest Michelle.
The dining area can easily seat between 8-10 people
The main floor master bedroom has a king bed, large walk-in closet, huge private ensuite bathroom
The main floor master has views of the ocean while lying in bed
Main floor master ensuite bathroom with soaker tub and shower
Upper level family room & office - amazing views!
Upper level family room with a big gas fireplace and ocean views
Upper level master bedroom with queen and access to private deck
Upper level master bedroom with queen bed and private ensuite bathroom
Upper level master bedroom privatge ensuite bathroom with large walk-in shower
Upper level bedroom with two double beds and gorgeous ocean views
Upper level bedroom with two double beds, its own TV and lots of closet space
Upper level main bathroom - share by two bedrooms
Upper bedroom with queen bed and access to a private deck
Your protected private back deck for sunny afternoons
Large capacity Magtag washer & dryer
The house faces east so the sun rise is spectacular
Winter on the ocean is just a beautiful as the summer
A walk along Departure Bay in the winter - this was taken in February 2014
One of our resident otters after a successful fishing trip
Another gorgeous sun rise on Departure Bay
An incoming BC Ferry and a larger cargo tanker awaiting a mooring spot in Vancouver
There is great fishing to be had in the area. We can direct you to a good local fishing guides
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Otterlake...
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Excellent home with a perfect view”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The house is just as described, it is just like being at home. The kitchen has everything you might need to cook for a family of eight. The ocean view was so wonderful there was always something to see. The telescope upstairs was a wonderful touch one of the husbands was the harbour master by the time we left. We stayed 3 wonderful days and nights. Su was wonderful to work with and went beyond the call of duty in helping us to find a B&B for extra family. We would recommend Departure Bay beach house to anyone. It was a wonderful holiday in a wonderful location.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Dear Sandra, Thank you so much for this most gracious review. I totally enjoyed helping you plan and set-up your family reunion. You filled our house with lots of love & laughter. We hope to have you back with us for your next reunion whenever that may take place. All the best, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
766tracy
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Home & View”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent one week in this beautiful home over spring break and had a wonderful relaxing time. Waking up to the amazing view and the sounds of the waves was well worth it! There is lots to do in the surrounding area but it was nice just to put on the fire, enjoy a glass of wine listening to some tunes. Great place to unwind from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Su the owner goes well above making sure you feel at home and went so far as to leave a lovely bottle of wine and desserts for when we arrived. The kitchen is fully stocked and has everything you would need including a handful of cutting board sizes! With one of the master bedrooms downstairs our boys had the upstairs to themselves and they loved the cozy TV area. We will have to come back and enjoy this perfect summer time spot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, Comfortable King Sized Bed, Access to Beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan290...
Magdeburg, Germany
1 review
“...awesome!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We frequently rent houses and apartments travelling and you usually see awesome pictures and colorful creative descriptions on the web, but this one was different.
Travelling with a group that is not easy to impress living wise, we found ourselves in awe as we walked in the door, lights, music and fireplace turned on when we arrived, we found this house in such a great shape with so much attention to every little detail. For me a good indicator is the way the kitchen is equipped, and we did some serious cooking and grilling while we were there, SHARP knives, a wide variaty of seasonings, enough good wine glasses, you name it, it's there.

We will have to come back in summer!

Stefan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Hello Stefan, It was our pleasure to host your group from Germany. I was delighted that you found the kitchen well equipped. The photo you sent me of that gorgeous piece of perfectly seared tuna told me that you knew your way around a kitchen and good food. We would welcome you back to stay with us in the summertime. This time perhaps you can go out fishing and catch your own salmon for the BBQ. All the best, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaner42
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Same time...every year...”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Our family lives in 3 different locations on Vancouver Island and we normally gather at one location during the holidays. This year we planned a pre-Christmas getaway in addition to our regular get together. We selected Departure Bay Beach House for its outragreous beachfront location, easy access to shopping, and fabulous amenities.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a beautiful wreath on the door and lovely boxes of chocolates. This set the perfect tone for starting the unwinding process with glases of wine, a cosy fire and watching the everchanging seascape.

When I say this house is well-equipped I am not kidding. The kitchen is so well stocked that even if you don't have a inkling of how to cook, you'll be thinking of recipes to concoct during your stay. Tons of glassware, utensils, cookware, serving dishes, and towels.

The four large bedrooms are so comfortable. Excellent mattresses, great bedding and well appointed. Bathrooms are stocked with all the towels youwill need. There are 2 bedrooms with ensuites and 2 bedrooms rooms share a large upstairs bathroom. There is also a powder room on the main, so for our group of seven this house was perfect.

We whiled away the mornings watching the storm, drinking coffee and playing games. And then we repeated the process during the afternoons, only this time with cocktails!

Our whole family appreciated this opportunity to vacation right on the island, and just before heading into the holiday frenzy. What a lovely way to reconnect, share memories, take lots of goofy photos, decorate a tree, eat more that was advisable, and generally bask in the warmth of each other love and attention.

The only downside...we felt the weekend was too short. So, next year we will book ourselves in for 3 or 4 nights.

This was a marvelous way to celebrate each other and enjoy the stunning West Coast weather without a lot of travel. Can't wait to do it again!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
154943Ano...
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Thanksgiving on the ocean!”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our family hails from all over – Nanaimo, Nanoose Bay, Vancouver, Lethbridge, Denver and Phoenix. This year our coin toss had us meeting in Nanaimo for Canadian Thanksgiving. Lucky us to find this great spot on the ocean with many wondrous sea critters to observe, great beach walks and soothing wave action for 4 nights of GREAT sleep. The house is spacious, well-appointed, sensational kitchen (even sharp knives!), good amenities, fabulous location and big enough to accommodate our group of 10 for a big family turkey dinner. We lacked for nothing. In fact we had an overabundance of everything. We added to our collective family memories with our stay at the Beach House. Many thumbs up from our clan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Spaciousness and views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing