We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of Diplomat Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diplomat Motel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Just look for the pictures; no comments. There may be worse hotels but I have never stayed in one worse than this one
This place is the nastiest place ever! The smell of the room (stuffy and general smell of dirty), the state of the bedding ripped, long overdue its expiration date, the state of the affairs of the bathroom. Just stinky in all senses.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Was in room 114. Stinky room, smelled like chemical mixed with I don't know what...need an MSDS sheet for that room. The manager is HORRIBLY cruel. Drunken fights in room below, had to call RCMP as one drunken participant was doing to drive a vehicle either into my truck parked in line with theirs, or through the motel. Mixture of Motel Hell/Rob Zombie/David Lynch film excerpts...sketchy, filthy and dangerous. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pepchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

April 8, 2017, we rented Room #102 at about 11 pm.The room was clean and tidy. However, what we experienced shows dangerous neglect: We experienced liquid effluent falling on us through the ceiling when the person above flushed the toilet and showered. All the yellow water-liquid fell on my wife first and then me, I as we were in the washroom. Looking up, we saw an exposed drywall crack, in the ceiling. My wife ran and got the garbage bin and placed it to gather the rest, and exited.
Long neglect in fixing this detail is shown by the paint peeled off on the ceiling and the drywall filler washed away. exposing a long crack. When the downfall stopped, we quickly showered.
I called the owner, Jack, today, asking him for a rebate and requested his repair to the above so others will not experience the same. He was nasty, offered a small discount and said, if I did not like it...take him to court!
I will write a letter to CITY HALL, who may be able to help. It is a simple fix in the plumbing and new sheet flooring.

I do not think anyone wants this experience happening to his family. I can only offer this advice: check the room out, when staying here, especially the washroom ceiling before accepting. We did not expect this. For $79.00 I expect a little more....at least safe!

.just a little care goes a long way in making a trip somewhat enjoyable even on a budget!

R j

Room Tip: observe noise from the room above and street. Check the room out, especially the washroom ceiling sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gentlefolks2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Stinky room, rude clerk, soft spots in the floor on the deck outside my room.
The stairs were broken at the bottom step
Someone yelling outside. I wont be staying there again. It was a experience I dont want to have again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Wanted a clean, simple place to stay with kids. 2 bedroom suite was a bonus. There were definitely attempts made to update the room - a ?single layer of paint, newer headboards. However, the cursory attemps did not cover up the smell of mould. Not just mustiness, but a real mouldy smell. My husband was gagging on the smell and we had to leave. The owner though gave us a full refund with no questions asked. He was very nice. I just want to warn people with allergies/ asthma about this property. Cleanliness also was wanting - table was not even wiped off properly.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertaTravelBug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.3 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,558 reviews
0.9 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
564 reviews
1.8 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
306 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbour Light Motel
Harbour Light Motel
#9 of 18 in Nanaimo
80 reviews
2.1 km away
Travelodge Nanaimo
Travelodge Nanaimo
#7 of 18 in Nanaimo
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Motel

Address: 333 Nicol St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 4T5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range: ₹ 3,890 - ₹ 5,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diplomat Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Diplomat Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Motel Nanaimo, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing