We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,768)
Filter reviews
1,768 results
Traveller rating
1,013
543
142
46
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,013
543
142
46
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat viewminnoz restaurantparking garagecheesecakecorner roomroom servicesmall balconyharbour viewdowntown nanaimofront desk staffhotel restaurantvery nice hotelking bednice roomcentral locationeasy accesscomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 1,768 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Last minute business trip to Nanaimo and I was very impressed with the hotel & friendly staff. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent and the Starbucks in the lobby was a nice touch. I was only supposed to be there for 1 night but my return flight was cancelled and they accommodated a last minute reservation for additional night. Wake up calls exactly on time and the requested cab was waiting early in the morning.

Room Tip: Corner rooms ending in 10 or 11 have a great view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Funati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Anita, Jack,Derek and Ian are super friendly, very knowledgeable regarding the area and the main reason I enjoy coming back to the Bastion Inn! Restaurant and bar products and people are fun to chat with and the products that they put out very good! The newly upgraded gym makes it easy to make the time for a work out as well. Centrally located, underground parking make it convenient in all kinds of weather.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms as ALL the rooms are in perfect condition! Bedding is always 1st class
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank hedgamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren A, Interim Hotel Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thanks for the great comments. Will be sure to pass this along to our team. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights in the 7th floor. The room was well appointed, spotlessly clean and had a great view of the harbour.
A couple of things could have made my stay a bit more comfortable: the heater/air conditioner had manual controls. If the room is cold you have to turn on the heat and then turn it off when the room reaches the desired temperature. A thermostat would be nice so I don’t have to get out of bed in the middle of the night to turn the heat on.
The room had a door to an adjoining room, which was locked however I could hear my neighbor at times.
Breakfast at the restaurant was great and the restaurant staff were friendly and attentive. The sourdough bread was awesome!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank KBHurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren A, Interim Hotel Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you for submitting a review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Coast Bastion Hotel. I appreciate the feedback regarding the wall unit in your room. We do plan in upgrading these units in the near future. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

My room was clean and comfortable and I had a good view out the window. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant meals were delicious and wait-staff were very friendly and I had a great view of the waterfront from my table.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank robertlD5829TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren A, Interim Hotel Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. So glad you enjoyed your experience at the Coast Bastion Hotel. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Great hotel very friendly staff,nicely appointed rooms,very very clean.It is located close to the downtown which has some great stores.There is a harbor view and is located very close to the Casino
The restaurant has a good menu and great wait staff

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren A, Interim Hotel Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

It is great to see you enjoyed your stay at the Coast Bastion Hotel and that you were able to explore Nanaimo. Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews