We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was a bit disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Bastion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
victoria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Was a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

There was nothing wrong with the hotel, check in was fantastic, staff were great, room was updated and looked modern in stature. I think what irked me the most was you pay that much for a room, and there is no breakfast included or even a coupon for the restuarant downstairs, you think something would be added with our stay or least to tempt you to spend your money in the hotel rather then take it some where else.
What really got under my skin was the parking or lack of it! We parked in the lot across the street from the hotel, because I do not think the hotel has parking on site, we paid for as much as we could, the twelve hours, and because we over stayed our welcome by twenty minutes, there was a parking ticket sitting on windshield when we left. I did notice cars in the parking lot with parking passes from another hotel on the dashes of there cars, maybe the Coast could look at doing the samething.
I have paid a lot less at other hotels and have got a lot more in return.

*S*

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirdons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    404
    114
    29
    15
See reviews for
220
417
63
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I just spent 6 nights at this wonderful place.... its not like it was my first time, I have been staying there on a monthly basis for some time now. But this trip was special and I was extra demanding..... Ian, Anne Marie, put up with my demands with huge smiles..... they never once made me feel like I was a pain in the ***.... but I know I was....

Gail in the lounge is amazing!!!!

Upon checkout, James was most helpful..... I would recommend this hotel for any conference, vacation or just a business night, heads up though if you think you are going to make some noise, let the front desk know and they will try not to have people staying to close to you if they can!

Thank you to the Coast for making my stay special

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdviceWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed there for a conference. Close to everything, harbour, food, shopping etc. Staff were curteous and friendly. Room was clean and well done. would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrairieDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Albert
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

On a trip through Nanaimo the last week of March we decided to stay once again at the Coast Bastion. Booking for a Premier King <which was on the 14th floor> with a 55+ discount came in a reasonable $155 or so plus tax. The view from our room was spectacular and will attach a pic. Hotel has been renovated and as such was immaculate throughout. Room didn't have a whole lot of extra room but was sufficient. Took a few minutes to figure out the heating controls but they worked fine. Bathroom was very well appointed. Parking is attached to the hotel via a covered walkway. Staff were most friendly and helpful throughout. Most impressive feature is the location which is easy to find and a super starting point for a scenic walk in either direction. Would defineately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TajanderStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at the Coast Bastion Inn for three nights and were very happy with our visit. The room was fresh and clean and recently renovated. Our harbour view from the 14th floor was spectacular and being right on the water provided lots of activity during the day. Tried out the spa services and experienced one of the most relaxing massages ever. Restaurant and room service was very good. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. A very pleasant hotel stay that was covered by some serious money won at the casino around the corner.

Room Tip: A harbour view on a higher floor is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
8.3 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.3 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
10.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
8.4 km away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#10 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Property: Coast Bastion Hotel
Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,712 - ₹ 11,307
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing