We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tres' disapointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cafe Francais

Le Cafe Francais
Ranked #1 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 37
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: French little bistro. Authentique home cooking
Victoria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tres' disapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

A recent business trip to Nanaimo provided an opportunity for my wife and I to try Le Cafe Francais. First the good news, the downtown location was close to our hotel, the waiter was charming and attentive. We decided to share a shrimp appi and when it was put on the table we were surprised to see the shrimp in a pool of tomato sauce, we weren't expecting that and thought it an odd combination. The wine was good, the fresh baked bread was good, the main courses were both disappointing. My wife's crepe shell was underdone and the chicken filling was pieces of overcooked thigh meat with little or no sauce, or flavour but very salty. My shrimp and scallop coquille was bland and the sauce was thin enough to be called soup.
The creme bruille was excellent but did not make up for the preceding disasters.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank haggar5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    66
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant in the Downtown core.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to diner at Le Cafe Francais. The waiter was very friendly and accomodating, the food was just out of this world, it is fresh and is prepared for you at the time that you order.. so there is nothing pre made and sitting under a heat lamp, served in a very timely manner and such a great choice of different wines at a very decent price. We loved it so much in fact, we now come for diner every Friday night.

Excellent food, quantity, and quality are amazing and VERY well priced.
Such a great variety of choices on their menu.
Chef Gilles is a really great person and so funny. His staff is wonderful as well.

Merci le Cafe Francais for our wonderful Friday Nights!


C. & S.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Justus7381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I Loved it thats all i gotta say the food,wine,service and the chef comes to your table to ask how everything was at the end of your meal very proffesional u gotta go

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stephaneblondeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It is so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Fine dining in the downtown core. Tastes authentic. Amazing delicate sauces. Try the Escargot if you dare.

Helpful?
2 Thank Thrive O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent in all aspects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Friendly, family run, authentic french restaurant. Excellent service and food. All 5 of us from out of town raved about it. The value was exceptional and the atmosphere was comfortable. Highly recommended on all accounts. We will all return next time in town.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe Francais also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Le Cafe Francais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing