We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pine & Picket B&B
Ranked #1 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“A little piece of heaven !”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I found this treasure a few years ago. Our stay with Ingvar and Ania was our first experience with B&B's. We were amazed with the comfort and ease of spending time in someone's home that we didn't know. In fact, very quickly we found ourselves feeling like we were staying with long time friends. Their home is furniished with many special treasurers that provide a sense of warmth. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bedding is luxurious. Each bedroom is equipped with clean, comfortable private bathrooms that allows their guests with every privacy. The rooms are also equipped with balconies. We enjoyed sitting on the patio off our room, sipping on a glass of wine and enjoying the view of the Departure Bay harbour. And just when we felt that all of this was such a treat, we found ourselves sitting at the morning table, being treated to Ania's exquisite breakfast. Not only is the food amazing, but it is always served with the knowledge that we eat with our eyes before our stomach.

We also enjoyed spending time just a short walk away at the Marina. There is a few terrific places to eat or have a refreshment while watching the boats in the Harbour.

We have found many other lovely B&B's since, but none have ever matched their standards.

We had the pleasure of being back in Nanaimo a few weeks ago and made sure that we were booked to stay there again. One might worry that time had romaticized our first visit there, but our recent stay confirmed our memory of such a spectacular place and it's hosts.

Can I think in ANYTHING bad about this place? .... hummm .... NO.

Karin and Michael
Winnipeg, MB

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful. We have stayed in both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
176
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed 2 nights in this homey feel B&B by mid August. It locates just a block away from the Ferry terminal so it’s good for foot-passenger like me. Love the quiet residential neighborhood & the great view over the water from the 2nd floor balcony. Enjoy very much the relaxing easy walk to downtown along the harbor walkway, as suggested by Ingvar. As mentioned by lots of reviewers, Ania’s breakfast is 5 stars. Ingvar is an interesting & entertaining person. He is a singer with great voice & with passion to his garden, green house & fixing things by himself. The couple loves to chat with their guests & is a great companion to me during my stay (as solo traveler) in Nanaimo. Highly recommend this B&B if you like a quiet cozy atmosphere with genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yummyyum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitchener
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband & I stayed in the lovely Provence room, enjoying the views of the marina from the balcony and the very clean amenities. Breakfasts were superb, prepared by Ania, a French trained chef. She very willingly accomodates any food allergies as well. The B & B is in an excellent location within walking distance to a 5 star restaurant. Ania & Ingvar go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My sister and I visited this B&B and were greatly impressed. The bedrooms were marvelous and every nook and cranny had details that help make the place charming and cozy. The breakfast presentation was so beautiful that you had to stop and admire it before you could eat. But once you start eating, you felt like you were dreaming and you never wanted to wake up. Our hosts, Ania and Ingvar, were warm and wonderful people. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaquelBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This was the best place we ever stayed. Ania and Ingvar were fantastic...they went over and above to make sure we had the best time. The breakfasts were phenomonal, the Nanaimo bars were great. The decor was nice, the room was pleasant. The balcony with the ocean view was incredible. The walk from the ferry station was only 5 minutes and then it is a very pleasant walk downtown about 30 minutes, it was 5 minutes walk to a great place to rent kayaks. Absolutely fantastic

Room Tip: When booking through the internet, the website said there were no rooms. I phoned anyway and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
2.7 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,341 reviews
6.0 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
316 reviews
1.4 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
4.7 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
484 reviews
0.4 km away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pine & Picket B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pine & Picket B&B

Property: The Pine & Picket B&B
Address: 511 Drake St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 2S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,880 - ₹ 6,100
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the Nanaimo ferry terminal with incredible views of Departure Bay & Newcastle Channel. 2 beautifully appointed rooms with private ensuite bathrooms, sundecks overlooking the waterfront, close to kayak rentals, seaplanes; one of your hosts is a French Chef! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pine & Picket Bed And Breakfast
The Pine & Picket Hotel Nanaimo
The Pine & Picket B&B Nanaimo, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing