We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavender farm”

Okanagan Lavender & Herb Farm
Ranked #1 of 29 Shopping in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nestled in the hills of South Kelowna against a backdrop of sweeping lake and valley views lies Okanagan Lavender & Herb Farm, a working family farm that has become a garden-inspired tourism destination. 18 different aromatic herbs and plants, including over 60 varieties of lavender, are grown, harvested, dried and distilled on-site for use in the hand-crafted botanical products that fill the farm boutique and online store. Launched as the Okanagan’s first Economusee site, visitors are invited to discover the traditional craft of essential oil and hydrosol distillation done on the farm. Three acres of garden are also open seasonally for guided and self-guided tours, with winding pathways, a cedar hedge maze, whimsical sculptures, water features and herb and xeriscape gardens. We invite you to come and entice your senses from May through December, with lavender at its peak in July. Events and workshops are offered throughout the season (please check website for more details).
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

When we visited this farm, most of the lavender flowers had already been harvested. However, we managed to view the farm from the patio. The lawns are well-manicured and they have different types of herbs and plants in the farm.
Very relaxing to sit and admire even though we didn't see the purple flowers.
The staff in the small gift shop were very knowledgeable about their products and gave us great help and told us what their products can achieve.
The pure lavender oils were quite pricey but they're supposed to be prize-winning bushes.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Chan_HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keely B, Manager at Okanagan Lavender & Herb Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks for visiting our farm, ragammuffin! It's very nice to know how helpful and knowledgeable you found our staff to be, as we strive to provide our customers with both an educational and enjoyable experience when they visit. Glad you had a chance to smell our lavender essential oils too - we are very proud of the international recognition they have received!

Have a wonderful autumn and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Keely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 26 reviews
"full bloom"
in 12 reviews
"lavender ice cream"
in 8 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 7 reviews
"wishing tree"
in 6 reviews
"essential oils"
in 5 reviews
"hand scrub"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful smell"
in 3 reviews
"view from the balcony"
in 3 reviews
"short visit"
in 3 reviews
"walk around"
in 3 reviews
"for sale"
in 4 reviews
"gelato"
in 7 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 4 reviews
"unique experience"
in 3 reviews
"bees"
in 12 reviews
"workshop"
in 7 reviews
Filter

38 - 42 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

We were mildly disappointed to find that the cafe part of the facility was removed and certain products no longer available. We understand the reasons why (provincial gov't cracking down on interpretation of what a farm is) but that was part of the charm of the place. We'll still visit it for all our lavender needs, Happy to note that they were very accommodating even though we showed up at 10 minutes to closing time. ;)

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Big S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keely B, Manager at Okanagan Lavender & Herb Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Big S,

Glad to hear you had an enjoyable time at the farm, despite our café being closed. Perhaps you were able to try our lavender lemonade and gelato? It's definitely a treat being able to experience the lavender aroma with all the senses!

Sincerely,
Keely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The entrance and restaurant and gift items are overpriced. The farm is small and can been seen in a glance.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank TravelLots2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keely B, Manager at Okanagan Lavender & Herb Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear TravelLots2012,

I'm sorry to hear that your visit to our farm was not of the value you had been expecting. We do not have a restaurant, but have locally made lavender gelato and house made lavender lemonade (both featuring our farm-grown lavender) for visitors to enjoy. Our three acres of garden is cared for by both a landscaping crew and a full time employee, and the entrance fee includes an information booklet, a packet of farm-grown herbs and a recipe, as well as a ribbon for our wishing tree. We harvest 18 different aromatic herbs and plants from our gardens to be dried or distilled for use in our products. To complement these 100% farm-grown ingredients, we craft our products with sustainably sourced, organic and Fair Trade oils, butters and botanicals, all done on site in small batches. The cost of our products reflects the high quality ingredients that go into them, and we never sacrifice quality for quantity. I apologize that this information wasn't properly communicated to you by our staff, and I hope if you choose to visit us again, that you will have a more enjoyable experience.

Sincerely,
Keely Bruel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

My son and his wife had their wedding at the Lavender farm. They went out of their way to help make the day a special one. Excellent Venue.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Cat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Rode up from Oliver and expected at least a middle size farm, but it was quite small and items in the store were high priced. They wanted $10 to let you walk in the garden, which should have been free. Go to Sequim, WA, if you want to see some real Lavender farms.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keely B, Manager at Okanagan Lavender & Herb Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Steve,

Thank you for your review, though I'm sorry to hear that the farm wasn't as you'd expected. All of the herbs and plants we grow are harvested by hand and either dried, distilled or infused to be used in our products, all of which we make on site. We don't use any additives, fillers or artificial preservatives or fragrances in our products and we choose Fair Trade, organic and sustainably sourced oils, butters and botanicals to complement our farm-grown ingredients. Our 3 acres of garden is maintained once a week by a landscaping crew, cared for by a full-time employee, and features not only lavender, but also a hedge maze, xeriscape and herb gardens, art pieces and two water features. Included in the admission price is a map and tour booklet with various facts and information about the gardens and farm history, a packet of farm-grown herbs and recipe for how you can use them, as well as a ribbon to tie on our garden's wishing tree. I do apologize that this information was not properly conveyed to you by our staff, and hope if you visit us again that you will have a more enjoyable time.

Sincerely,

Keely Bruel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okanagan Lavender & Herb Farm also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Okanagan Lavender & Herb Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing