We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Received a death threat from manager on a Sunday morning!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Kelowna
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Penticton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Received a death threat from manager on a Sunday morning!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Of all the hotels I have ever stayed in, and thats alot, I have never been greeted by a more aggressive person that the manager/owner of this facility. I was greeted by a lovely friendly girl on Saturday afternoon and I took a room. She informed me of the free breakfast which was the main reason i stayed there. The room was average but clean. The next morning I went for my free breakfast and there was a car in the manager spot outside but the place was closed. It was 7:20 am. I rang the bell several times and no one answered so I left the hotel without checking out. Several hours later I returned to check out and I told the manager what happened. He told me that breakfast was at 7:30 am. I said that at 7:20 the lights were still off and he started getting upset telling me that "he didn;t care"! I was shocked by his lack of concern for my plight. He began getting very aggressive by standing up and coming towards me! He then said he will -- kill me! I told him that if he keeps coming i am going to call the police! We exchanged words and I asked him for my receipt which I was paying for by visa. He wouldnt give it to me! After several minutes he finally gave it to me and I left. The next day I called Howard Johnsons on their toll free number expecting that they would take my complaint very seriously! Turned out, they didnt care at all! After 2 weeks of no return call, I called again and was told that there was nothing they could do for me! Shocking! I implore you.......NEVER EVER go to this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    78
    86
    54
    52
See reviews for
99
91
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Once this place is through with their renovations, I will stay there again in a heartbeat. It wasn't my favourite place, but really, for the price, you can't complain.

First Impression 5 / 10

-recently “refaced” with siding

-fewer than 4 abandoned vehicles in parking lot; more than 1

-inviting roofed area to park your car in while you check in

-there are 3 back doors that appear to lead upstairs; Your key does not work on any of them. Only one of them opens and that is because it is permanently unlocked

Location 8 / 10

- The only fault with the location is that it’s impossible to turn left into the parking lot, or left out of. This isn’t Hojo’s fault, it’s Kelowna’s poor city planning. You’ll be seeing a lot of this on your trip

- Easy to find, close to attractions (see next paragraph)


Nearby Attractions 8/10

- Proximal driving distance to Orchard Park Mall and the downtown shops

- Funny dog lives next door at Town & Country Motel (worth looking into)

- Lots of restaurants and car dealerships

- Vending machine at the landing of “downstairs” should the need arise


Room 4.5/10

- Prepare to be overwhelmed with bleach smell. I got used to it after a few hours and took comfort in the sanitization it implied

- Bathroom was TOP DRAWER! If this is what the rest of the renovations are going to look like, sign me up!

- Heater was not on; room was consequently subzero

- Weird sink holes in the carpet

- Fridge makes a consistent “RRRRR” sound

- No alarm clock or bible (?????)

- Separate sink / “toilet room” – if someone is in the shower and you want to wash your hands you have to dry them on your pants because the towels are in the toilet room


Amenities (9/10)

- Continental breakfast was the highlight of the stay. Watch CTV news with the hotel owner as he makes you some waffles. You will also notice a variety of jams and name-brand cereals, should you prefer.

View (3/10)
- our view was of the highway and the top of the aforementioned roof outside of the lobby. This is where I noticed the Town & Country’s dog, so I’m awarding 3 points for this.


Service (9.5/10)

- promptly greeted at the counter when I came to check in/out

- they let us check in a few hours early when we got into town. Ace! (Be sure to phone ahead, they aren't miracle workers)

- must ask for a 2nd room key

Room Tip: if you ask for a first floor room, you get your own entry door (motel). These are at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweeetleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I had a fantastic stay at the Howard Johnson in Kelowna for 2 weeks when I was waiting for my family to arrive from the UK, The manager and his staff are all very friendly, the room was very clean and up to date. The free breakfast was a bonus as was the fridge/freezer and microwave in the room. Overall a fantastic stay and would definately recommend it to others. The best price in Kelowna by far.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark154933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had to be in Kelowna early for a meeting and due to delays we arrived at 2.45 a.m.! The manager unlocked the hotel and greeted us warmly... The room was good and everything worked well. Breakfast was good, the manager was making the waffles.

We would definitely stay at the Howard Johnson again, and in the past we have stayed at much 'grander' Kelowna hotels that were disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladnerlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My girlfriend and I were greated very warmly by a blonde girl. No problems at all. Washroom was redone and everything was super clean. The free breakfast was great. The sign was a bit tricky to see and we drove past it. Great value for a 2 star. No pool so don't expect one.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#12 of 34 in Kelowna
716 reviews
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
The Charles M Suites
The Charles M Suites
#22 of 34 in Kelowna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Kelowna
#23 of 34 in Kelowna
320 reviews
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#18 of 34 in Kelowna
298 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Kelowna

Property: Howard Johnson Kelowna
Address: 2639 Highway 97 N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1X 4J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,297 - ₹ 8,527
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Kelowna 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kelowna Hotel Kelowna
Howard Johnson Kelowna Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing