We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night's rest-business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
vancouver, canada
1 review
“Good night's rest-business trip”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights during business trip - Sept. 17, 18, 19 2011. Slept very well on the comfortable bed-no sounds of neighbours up or beside, or from parking outside-walls quite soundproof. Room had been recently redone with new carpets, paint, tile, bed linens. The swimming pool was alright, the dry cedar sauna very good. Microwave and fridge, coffee maker were in the room though you could get a coupon from the front office for breakfast at attached cafe. A grocery store (Cooper's) is within walking distance as well as a little mall. I chose the inn because of the low cost/night and it was situated directly across the street from my early morning business meetings so I was happy that it ended up being so nice. I will definately stay again for next set of meetings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank drumset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    18
    16
    21
See reviews for
41
27
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were going to Penticton with another couple to check the wineries out but Iron Man was on and no hotels so decided to go to Kelowna instead. I found this hotel on line and when I booked on line they didn't have any more of those type of rooms but when I called they said we could upgrade to one with the kitchen for no extra charge because they could only offer us a contintal breakfast as their was no one to cook due to a family problem that had happened. The rooms were clean, big and the kitchen a good size as well. They have a pool which we used each night and even several BBQ's and tables that you could use. This place is on a dead end street so was very quiet and was walking distance to a great Japanese restarant and iHop too.

Room Tip: There is a pet side and a non pet side so you can let them know which side you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan201255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Yes, it's a bit run-down (from the outside) but it met our needs. We had enough beds for 5 people, it was clean and quiet. I liked that it had laundry facilities, and was close to amenities. There is a rec place next door if you wanted an indoor pool. Yes, you have to pay but I'm glad for that option. There is also a playground just 2 minutes away. Lots of restaurants around. There were a few things that I noticed, albeit minor. The coffee machine only made it to lukewarm and so did the microwave. No matter how high I put it, it was just warm. While we were given new towels, only 1 bed out of the three was made. If there was only one person on housekeeping, maybe it's time to hire another person? Another thing that made an impression was the way the manager/owner parked his car. Yes, I may sound picky but if you park your car, at least park it within the stall, not into another stall. These are not major things but it just made an impression. Would we go back? Most likely but it would probably be the second choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2011

As we drove up to the motel, it looked run down and sketchy. My words to my husband were "I am so sorry!". Once we got to the room it was not too bad. Kelowna accommodations were all very expensive so this fit in our budget. The room seems to have been repainted and new carpets put in recently. They have BBQ areas outside if you want to make supper for you and your family. We did not use those areas, but they looked alright.

My husband found out our first night that he was allergic to feather pillows. We went to the front desk in the morning and asked if they could change out the feather pillows for non-feather. They said no problem. We got back to the motel at 5pm and our room still hadn't been cleaned or the pillows changed. My husband went to the front desk and the clerk was very condescending as he told my husband that they only had one person on to clean rooms. If you wanted ice, you had to get a key from the front desk, that was not convenient at all.

The continental breakfast was disappointing. It was for a very minimal breakfast at the attached cafe. We only had toast one morning and chose to eat elsewhere the next day.

If we go back to Kelowna, we will look into other accommodations, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Hello Iceyraven,
thank you for your comments. Since your visit in June the building has been painted, the ice machine has been moved to a more convenient location near the front desk and I purchased many non feather pillows.
We had a very busy summer due to the great value that we offer our customers. We will be investing those added revenues into further renovations and improvements.
I hope that you will come back and see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

saskatchewan
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our room was clean and comfortable. Enough space for the family of four and was in our budget. Our room was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacksheep2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#13 of 34 in Kelowna
722 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
364 reviews
Days Inn Kelowna
#22 of 34 in Kelowna
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#18 of 34 in Kelowna
305 reviews
Central City
No photo provided
Central City
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Recreation Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Property: The Recreation Inn & Suites
Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 7V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,707 - ₹ 15,280
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned and operated motel in Kelowna that features a seasonal outdoor pool, barbeque and picnic area and are centrally located right next to Parkinson Recreation Centre. We are also within walking distance to a variety of Kelowna's finest restaurants and shops and just a short drive from the down town waterfront. Our guest rooms are equipped with in-room air-conditioning, cable TV, free wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Rooms with kitchenettes and kitchen facilities are available. We are a pet friendly property and able to accommodate pets upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Recreation Inn And Suites
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing