We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Fully stocked kitchen was a nice bonus but unfortunately no dishwasher which would be more sanitary between guests. Beds are very comfortable and have very nice duvets with the exception of the sofa bed which is the worst mattress I have ever seen and is completely useless. We had a one bedroom unit and the air conditioner was not adequate for the size of the room; my parents stayed in a one queen bed suite and the air conditioner was fine for them. Front desk staff was very friendly and tried to help us with this problem; after the third night of our stay the air conditioner did manage to do its job. Continental breakfast was a nice perk but it was a bit of a hassle to have to get vouchers at the front desk every morning, Overall this hotel was a good value as it was about half the cost of similar size rooms at other hotels.

Room Tip: Don't plan on sleeping on the sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
thanks to your comments I have purchased some new sofa beds. We are trying to get better and better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    15
    16
    18
See reviews for
35
24
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights with my children. Very roomy, great kitchenette, comfortable, clean and quiet. Would definitely stay here again. Perfect location and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kt773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We had our dog on this trip and their are few hotels that will accept a large dog. The air conditioning for the room was inadequate and the room (upstairs) was roasting all day and night. The electric outlet by the "desk" didn't work, so we had no light and could either use the laptop or the TV, but had to share the outlet. The room was clean, but the hotel is incredibly run down, not like the photo advertisement at all.
So overall, the room and stay was bad, but the worst of it was that the door lock was broken and we had to get the desk clerk to deadbolt it for us when we wanted to leave.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spottyshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

I just got back from this hotel ( 4 days ago ) and Chris doesnt know what he is talking about. The rooms are newly renovated with NEW carpet, so there would be know way Chris would have seen stains on the rug.
2nd, the rooms are quiet, and comfortable, i stayed in this hotel with my family for 1 week while i was there on business, and i found the rooms quite comfortable.... ( and i didnt see ANY evidence of mice.)
Chris says he was there on Canada weekend, well i was there on July 9-16th, so i HIGHLY doubt they can hide all his " dislikes" so quickly.
Even the building was being repainted while we were there.
It irritates me when people make things up just cuz they want to give someone a bad review. So Chris, if it was so bad.... why didnt you leave? why put up with mouse droppings in your bed?
or perhaps it was you that was looking for a room by the hour.... well.... just continue down Harvey and you will see " fun dorms for $30"
Get your facts right Chris....
On that note, our room was very clean and quiet, comfortable,and above all COMPLETELY renovated.
I do have to add this.... Melissa at the front office is an absolute sweetheart.... as is the other girl ( whose name i didnt get, but she has crystal blue eyes and a million dollar smile ) Very professional, very polite, very accomedating, and well always helpful when we asked for something.
I would definately recommend this hotel to people, because unlike Chris, i am being honest about my stay!

Thanks again Melissa!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leebg1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The colleague with the million dollar smile is Chelsea. Melissa, Chelsea, the rest of our great staff and I look forward to the next time we have the pleasure to welcome you back to the sunny Okanagan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Rooms nice and clean, rates go up if you have a large group. Book online for the best rates. Costs $2.00/pack to have coffee in your room. Continental breakfast isn't worth the trip to the office. Squeeze bottles mounted on wall fro soap/shower. Okay if you don't have a medical problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
We recently switch from individually packaged shampoo, conditioner and bar soap to the Ada Hydro Basics Press and Wash system from Germany. Our intention was to reduce the amount of waist caused by the individual packaged products. This unique, patented, closed dosage system not only is eco friendly but also easy to use and very high quality.

The continental breakfast in Minoos bistro has received rave reviews. On Mondays they close and muffins are available in the reception area.

We have reduced rates when we have less than 50% occupancy. Online you can save up to 25% but if you call directly to our toll free number 18006638603 you might be able to save more than 40%. It depends allot on supply and demand, but as a rule, calling direct gives you the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Howard Johnson Kelowna
#30 of 34 in Kelowna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Days Inn Kelowna
#22 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#12 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Recreation Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Property: The Recreation Inn & Suites
Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 7V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,878 - ₹ 12,282
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned and operated motel in Kelowna that features a seasonal outdoor pool, barbeque and picnic area and are centrally located right next to Parkinson Recreation Centre. We are also within walking distance to a variety of Kelowna's finest restaurants and shops and just a short drive from the down town waterfront. Our guest rooms are equipped with in-room air-conditioning, cable TV, free wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Rooms with kitchenettes and kitchen facilities are available. We are a pet friendly property and able to accommodate pets upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Recreation Inn And Suites
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing