We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't give your money to this money grabber”

Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This is not a hostel. It's a house with a few spare bedrooms that the extremely rude owner makes you feel like she's doing you a favour by letting you stay in. The owner, Maggie, overbooked on the night of our stay and the four of us ended up having to share two beds between us even though we had paid for four (she wouldn't refund us any money). At eleven at night while we were in bed the owner came into our room to get something from the closet, although I think she was just being nosey as I felt like she was constantly watching us while we were in the common areas. Our "continental breakfast" which was included in the price was a bowl of plums and NOTHING else! The kitchen was so dirty I wouldn't have even wanted to have made my own food there. The property itself was in a very bad state and needs lots of repairs. The ladies bathroom was 3 flights of stairs and a walk through the kitchen away from our bedroom. The only good thing I have to say about this place was that my friends and I had a laugh after we left about how terrible it was! Thankfully we were only staying for the one night though, otherwise it wouldn't have been so funny!

Stayed: September 2016
4  Thank ElaineCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie W, front desk at Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017


Sorry about this, because your review the owner decide no breakfast any more, we did the best we did provide fruits and lots things, that other hostel not provide at all, but people like you said nothing about, only bad review, therefore this year no free breakfast , no complaint for the reason .
The breakfast was DIY Pancake , that you have to cook yourself( Any hostel in town all provide that), the owner give fruits to people has no charge at all , you need to cook your own, the butter and things that you need she did provided also one egg, but ..it is hard for her to have this hostel , people back ground are different, .
Your booked a room are for 2 people but we end up had to helping you for your group stay in a room to set up extra beds for your people stay, this room is a budget room for 2 , you forgot this was a help but you said about her watching you , it is not fair , because we have a rule make sure everyone safe here, so stuff working in kitchen to make sure everything clean and safe, the one person name Maggie not the owner at all.she was working here last year but since your bad review she quite the job and go other hostel , you now are happy ???

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This is a HOSTEL and not a hotel.

At $89 it's grossly overpriced. We ended up paying and extra $10 for a queen bed. $99 is an absolutely ridiculous price for this place. Highly recommend paying a few extra bucks for a real hotel.

No towels, no hand soap or toilet paper in the women's shared toilet, huge barking dog in the office when you come and go, sketchy door locks, no proper curtains, bizarre notices about video surveillance in the common areas.

Lesson learned; read reviews more carefully before booking online!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jvangurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie W, Manager at Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

A hostel for the price is very low already, during the summer , the rate can go to 169/night depend on which room that you choice, if no budget please only book dorm for your budget room, private room are much higher, some with condition some without deepen where need it.
Kelowan is a very different town cost are much higher than other town .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Currently staying at the hostel while looking for an apartment. Got a standard private room at very reasonable rate. It is clean and functional. Location is great and people friendly. Keep in mind this is a hostel, not a hotel, but I would recommend trying a hostel if you never have... Get to meet people, very different experience than staying in a chain hotel.

Room Tip: My standard private room has a desk and TV great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Though the location may be alright the atmosphere and conditions are appauling, it is more an old house with converted rooms than a hostel. You can hear the mice in the walls and every so often running across the floor. It is run by a lady who is intrusive and very very unhelpful. if you ask for a refund of any kind due to a change in plans she claims she is not orthized to do that, when you ask for contact details for people who can she refuses.
If -5 was an option I would be choosing that, I can not stress this enough do not book here under any circumstances.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

air condition room and w/ free continental breakfast as advertised is complete false,,,they will give you small electric fan,,I booked this weekend but boy I made a big mistake..no washrooms inside the room- you have to go outside another floor for shared washrooms, no towels and the shower room - you cannot bend to scrub your feet..
I think this was just a residential house made into hostel by adding rooms here & there.. I will never recommend this place ever..

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marlyn204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie W, Front Office Manager at Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Free coffee, or tea and do it yourself ( D I Y ) breakfast , is always available , as per web site , there is no mention of air conditional in every room, in some room we do have it .
Our web site states share bathrooms , kitchen and towel are 5 dollars charge if you need it.
Client did not read description on web site
This is not a 5 star hotel , we try out best to keep the hostel very clean
WE have lot of return customers
WE appreciate your input
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#4 of 34 in Kelowna
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel

Address: 730 Bernard Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6P5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range: ₹ 2,917 - ₹ 7,726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel is located in the heart of downtown Kelowna for everyday convenience. We are close to the nearby beach facility at the beautiful Okanagan Lake. Also, walking distance to grocery store, restaurants and cafes. Our prices are hard to beat, low budget accommodation for travellers of all ages and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing