We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Place!”

Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel
Reviewed 4 September 2015

This place is terrible. Nothing in the picture tells you that the bedroom and hallways smell like cat pee; the kitchen is smelly, dirty, and shared with other people; bedroom is cluttered with awkward furniture and the bed sheets are old and it smells; worst of all, the owner is crazy. Any amount for any unused days, regardless of reason, she does not give back at all. So, be careful before giving her any amount!

Room Tip: Do not book at this place at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex_lenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2015

I really hated this place. I shortened my stay and booked another room far from this hostel. Except the location there is nothing to like about this place.
The girls bathroom is located upstairs. So you need to cross the corridor, walk through the kitchen, take a steep stairs, walk through another corridor. How was I supposed to do that when I just woke up and want to take a pee and carrying my towel and bath stuff because Ya the showers are upstairs too.
In the morning, I went to the living room there were 3people seated there but the room looked tiny because of massive furniture, big wooden chair and most of all PLASTIC FLOWERS ALL MOVER THE ROOM. I couldn't have my coffee there so I went to the kitchen and had my coffee standing up chatting with 2 other girls who looked confused because there were nothing for breakfast exept coffee, and toast. They told me that the owner took back the peanut butter. When I was about to leave, few girls showed up and the owner told them that there is no breakfast but they can have some plums (it was 9 and breakfast was supposed to be served till 10)
The room: I shared the queen bed with my friend, it was clean but the room was tiny without any storage ( there were no space for our backpacks) again because of the random furniture thrifter here and there. The. Tv was oriented to the wall ( there is no wat to turn it to the bed) there were a desk chair but no desk...
I know it's a hostel but I was upset because I've been to soooo many hostels and I've never been that disappointed because it was EXPENSIVE for what it is. A pricy hostel for a ridiculous service.
I definitely would not recommend that place I'd rather go a bit further. Keep in mind that downtown Kelowna is walkable so no need to be on Bernard really!!!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziride A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Oddest hostel I have stayed in. The lady at the desk "Lee" was very unfriendly and a little strange. She was not very forthcoming with information and zero people skills. I asked how she liked Kelowna and she told me she didn't like the people. Never gave me a tour but when I came back later the only real communal space was the dining room which closes at 10 or 11pm. The "TV room" is a joke. It's an old school tv in the basement hallway with 2 chairs. There is a lock to the main entrance to the hostel but none of the dorms have locks and they do not offer any lockers.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

If you need to stay here, be patient. The place is OK but you'll have to deal with some eccentricities from the owner. Besides that, be aware that if you book online, she'll charge you taxes when you get there.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rafnagud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

I decided to stay at Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel because I was refused lodging at Kelowna International Hostel for not being an "International Traveller" (see my review on Tripadvisor for details). Upon arrival the owner asked me why I had chosen her hostel, and I related the above story. Her curt reply was "No, that's not correct". I said, "Yes, it is, they only take international travellers". "No, no" she looked at me and shook her head. I didn't have the time or energy for an argument so I let her proceed with the check in procedure. I gave her my credit card so she could ring through the transaction. Instead she suspiciously examined both sides of it. Then she asked, "Do you have another piece of ID with your signature on it?", so I gave her my driver's licence. She compared the signatures as if suspecting a forgery. "Why don't your signatures look the same on both documents?". I told her they do look the same and they are both my signatures. She slowery shook her head. She scrutinized the front of my driver's licence, "This photo doesn't look like you.". I told her well it is a photo of me because it's my licence. Silence. She then proceeded to check me in and show me where my room was. What a creepy experience. It felt more like an RCMP interview than a hostel check-in.

The rest of the stay was uneventful except for when I used my phone to snap a picture of a spelling mistake on a sign in the men's washroom. While in the washroom the (female) owner opened the door and peeked in. More creepiness.

I know it's not just me who found the owner strange and unwelcoming. Without any prompting a fellow guest muttered aloud to me "This place is being run by Kim-Jong Il's sister".

In short, only stay here if it's an emergency. Otherwise go to Samesun Backpacker's Lodge which is much, much better.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Kelowna International Hostel
Central City
Samesun Kelowna
Samesun Kelowna
#2 of 35 in Kelowna
300 reviews
Okanagan Seasons Resort
#28 of 33 in Kelowna
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel

Address: 730 Bernard Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6P5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range: ₹ 3,102 - ₹ 6,814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel is located in the heart of downtown Kelowna for everyday convenience. We are close to the nearby beach facility at the beautiful Okanagan Lake. Also, walking distance to grocery store, restaurants and cafes. Our prices are hard to beat, low budget accommodation for travellers of all ages and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelowna Okanagan Lake Hostel Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing