We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
11
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Location was good - walking distance to restaurants etc., AMAZING breakfast - different every day with lots of yummi home made stuff, interesting story to the building and helpful hosts who also let us pick grapes and plums ourselves from their back yard. Also had a good time chatting to other guests staying there over breakfast and in the evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We arrived to be greeted by Keith who showed us around and Judy who was coming in from picking fresh cherries for our room. Keith showed us how to get to the wineries on the map and agreed to lend us them for our trip. Off we went and had a wonderful excursion, returning to the most comfortable bed in the world that evening. The next morning we had breakfast with the other guests from England, Italy and S.Africa whilst Judy and Keith served us a wonderful asparagus souffle with fresh fruit, coffee, muffins and toast -- all freshly made by Judy in the Joyce House kitchen. We enjoyed great conversation with our hosts joining in when they had a chance between trips to the kitchen to serve us coffee refills. Off we went to enjoy the festivities in Kelowna and returned in the evening to be greeted by our charming hosts and had a most enjoyable conversation on the veranda of their glorious heritage house. It was remarkably comfortable inside and out. The next morning we had a fantastic breakfast again of fluffy oatmeal pancakes and sausages served with Judy's fabulous home made rhubarb/strawberry jam, current jelly and real maple syrup. Again, wonderful conversation with the other guests and a quick trip to the cherry tree to pick some for the trip home and sadly, we had to leave this most magical place called Joyce House B&B.

Room Tip: Peggy's room is the one we choose,. It has a queen size bed (the most comfortable sleep you will ever have) and a TV with it's own washroom across the hall.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A "home away from home" is the best way to describe Joyce House, and not a word of exaggeration. This 100-year-old bed and breakfast is one of the very few such heritage homes that has been spared the destruction of modernization sweeping across the fast-growing city of Kelowna.
In fact, owners Keith and Judy Standing spent a great deal of time and loving care restoring the house, which had been converted to a duplex by previous owners and had suffered much neglect. A beautifully inlaid 1940s-era wooden floor was revealed in the dining room and lovingly restored. Period furniture adorns every room, effortlessly blending into the early 20th century feel. The lack of carpets will appeal to those who suffer allergies. Fine examples of period art put the final touch of authenticity to the decor.
Judy is a fantastic cook and is happy to cater to those such as myself with food allergies. She is one of the few who seems to have mastered fail-safe non-gluten recipes that taste as good as they look. Homemade preserves such as boysenberry syrup for pancakes are positively excellent and breakfast at Joyce House is practically gourmet fare.
Joyce House has become our "regular" now when we visit Kelowna, not least due to the easygoing personality of Keith and our shared interest in history. Both Keith and Judy are fine conversationalists, drawing on their extensive travel experiences, and very helpful in directing us to local amenities. A five-star B&B yet as comfy and warm as home.

Room Tip: For those planning longer stays, pay a little more to get one of the two rooms that have en-suite bathrooms and adjoining sun rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chameleonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

loved this place, rooms were so clean and cozy, the breakfasts fit for a king, just amazing with homemade jams and juices, Keith & Judy our hosts were so accomodating for our whole group. They stored our bikes in the garage and we made good use of the bbq and hot tub and were made to feel so welcome in their home. An easy 10 minute walk to the beach and downtown. a great holiday at a great place, will definitely be back! Wendie

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wendie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Judy and Keith instantly treated us like family. They graciously opened up their home to our group of nine people. Their location is a close walk to the beach or downtown area and an easy drive for us to cycle the Kettle Valley Railway or tour the local wineries. The B & B is an immaculately restored and spacious heritage home. Our hosts were very knowledgeable and offered helpful advice on local restaurants and activities, as well as very reasonable rates. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Annie's room. It was the best because it has a sun room with a small fridge and TV, as well as an ensuite bathroom with a small shower.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews