We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first timer”

Kamloops Wildlife Park
Ranked #3 of 67 things to do in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Wildlife Park has over 60 different animal species and serves as a rehabilitation facility for injured creatures. Open Daily 9:30AM - 5:00PM
Sorrento, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“first timer”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Went with family. First couple animals we went to check out the cages were empty. After wandering further up the park we got to see some beautiful local critters. They had a nice playground as well. I would go back but there wasnt any particular wow factor.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    154
    63
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wildlights Display at Christmas”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Wildlights display at Christmas is beautiful. Be aware that if you are coming from Kamloops, it is usually colder out there so dress warmly. You don't see animals at night but the lights are nice. You can still ride on the Wildlife Express and they also have a maze to walk through.

During the rest of the year, the park has lots of displays and animals to look at. It's a nice place to take young children. But after going to the park for the last 15+ years I am finding that it just seems less exciting. It's probably just because I've gone too often! The Easter Egg hunt they put on is spectacular too!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just alright”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We visited the wildlife park during the Easter Long weekend. While I had heard about the park from a few people, I found the park to be average. Despite it being a sunny and relatively warm day and a decent number of people in the park most of the animals were inside their resting enclosures away from the public view. So for the amount of money spent to visit the park - it was just aright. Perhaps it is better on other occasions?

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JawadR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas lights”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great displays, fun train ride, a good winter/christmas evenings entertainment. It takes at least 2 hrs to go through, so dress warmly because it is all outside. Great for the whole family. It is just light displays, no animals (they are all in bed), but well done, some with christmas carollers and actors.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DebH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Needs upgrading”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We visited the wildlife park for a day back in September 2011. It is easy to find and well signposted from the highway with plenty of parking. Tickets are reasonable and there was no queue to get in, however the cashier had to find a collegue to work out how much change to give us from a $50 note...this took some time!
We are huge zoo fans and have visited plenty around the world, and unfortunatley this is not one of the best. It certainly needs a cash injection to upgrade some of the exhibits. The grizzly bear enclosure looked very grim and the bear that we saw did not look happy. The black bears seemed very content though but the view was poor as the glass was steamed up from the inside. The wolf area seemed pretty small and they too seemed miserable.
The highlight though was the baby grizzlies...sooooo cute!!
We only spent about 60 minutes at the park as it's quite small and all the animals are close together. If you're passing through I would definitley pop in but don't make a day of it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank catp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kamloops Wildlife Park also viewed

 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Kamloops Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing