We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, helpful team.”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoyed this hotel as an overnight stay. There were a couple of little things that could have been better, but overall the bed was comfortable, the staff were helpful and I slept well.

The two things that bugged me were firstly it was quite noisy in the room, Secondly there was a big push about having an outdoor pool, but when I went for a swim after a long day on the train it was closed and covered. I did use the spa though and that was nice.

All this said, I would stay here again as I did find the front counter staff very helpful and even though I was asking questions about luggage they have probably answered a thousand times they in no way made me feel like I was an imposition or a pain. Friendly, helpful and efficient - sounds easy, but so many hotels struggle to provide what the 540 has in spades.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Crosis,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay, we appreciate your comments. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy our pool area, it is opened from 7am-10pm everyday. In the fall season we do keep the cover on to keep the heat in, we can be called at any point to have the cover removed.We are sorry that this caused some confusion. We do hope that you will have the time to come back and visit us again in the future.

Thanks
Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For CAD 100 a night, this hotel was fine. The location is very central and was easy to find. We used the hotel parking lot although there was actually a public car park literally behind the building. Not sure on the cost though. I don;'t know how old the hotel is but it looks like it has been there for a good few decades. This was also reflected in the room. It was clean and tidy but just a little gloomy and dated. The outside of the hotel has obviously had a recent face lift, they just perhaps need to do the same to the interior. Having said that, the hotel restaurant was really nice. It was modern and had a great menu. The staff were also really friendly (as is everyone in Canada!). Overall, for CAD 100 a night, I cannot complain.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

This little town of Kamloops is quaint. We came off the Rocky Mountaineer train and found the hotel to be fine. The room was large enough with desk, small refrigerator and a nice window view of the city with mountains in the background.

Room Tip: we had a city view with mountains in the background
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandramerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sandramerwin,
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor, we appreciate the feedback. We are happy to see your enjoyed our property. We are sorry that you did not have enough time to explore our amazing City. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Rocky Mountain experience.

Kind Regards,
Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

This may seem strange but when 3 people are sharing a room it’s an issue. The toilet flush sounds like a rocket launching waking us up.
The room and bedding were great as was the service from the ladies at the front desk. They offered free parking inside which was great.
Stayed here cause I thought it was a casino. No casino. It’s now miles away.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank LG12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear LG12363,
Thank you for your recent comments on your stay with us, we appreciate the feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the service from our front desk team. The toilets that are installed are environmentally engineered with low flow. We take a great deal of pride in the fact that we are a green property! we are sorry that these were a distraction to you. I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back and see us again.

Thanks
Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Well pleased with this selection by RM as the room was clean and everything very satisfactory. Had a late snack in the dining room before retiring. A couple of people mentioned that their shower was cold in the morning. I need to tell you that with so many people staying over night and leaving by the clock in the morning, think about taking a shower at night. I did, no problems.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Frank M,
Thank you for all your great feedback from your recent stay, we appreciate all the comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay, we hope you had an amazing RM vacation.

Kind Regards,
Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: ₹ 5,813 - ₹ 8,975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing