We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,798)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveller rating
818
672
230
53
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
818
672
230
53
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool rocky mountaineer club floor blue restaurant underground parking london drugs downtown kamloops a great stay hockey tournament front desk staff hot tub riverside park would stay here again overnight stop one night stay beds were comfortable train
Filter
Updating list...
1,687 - 1,692 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I spent only one night at the Hotel 540 after a very late arrival due to a breakdown while on the Rocky Mountaineer.l We arrived just on midnight and despite the fact the hotel was undergoing major refurbishment we were checked in very rapidly and shown to our room.
It was a pity the stay was only one night as our room was large, modern, fresh and very well appointed - much better than the rooms we'd had in Banff, Jasper and Lake Louise. I cant comment on the meals as we were back on the train the next morning for breakfast, but based on my limited expereince there I would recommend hotel 540 and would certainly stay there again given the oppportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear kingbolt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased to see your comment on the exterior work - it will be great to have this completed later this month. It is going to add a great new dynamic to our hotel - that of a proper 4 star hotel entrance. In the interim, we are greeting our guests with open arms and smile. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey !

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Like others we stayed overnight as part of the Rocky Railroad trip. Don't be put off by the exterior works that are currently being undertaken. Our room was spotless, big comfy bed and food in the restaurant was adequate.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank kingbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in Kamloops over night as part of the Rocky Mountaineer trip. We were thrilled with the very large room, comfortable beds (and a choice of 2 beds). Situated within easy walking distance of the main shops and parks we were able to stretch our legs in the early evening.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Frances 1712,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. What an honour it is to get 5 out of 5 from such a well traveled contributor ! I am pleased you enjoyed everything about the hotel and our preferred location in downtown Kamloops. Hope you will be able to come back and stay again !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam /General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Like others, we were on the Rocky mountaineer train, so had just the one night in the hotel. Our room was lovely - we had a large comfortable bed ( better than previous ones in Calgary, Banff & Jasper ) also Huge flat screen tv & sofa. Can't comment on the breakfast, as we were dining on the train & didn't have much contact with the staff, but everyone seemed happy. All in all, probably the best hotel to go for in Kamloops, as it has a nice ambience & is right in the main street. We also got the Rocky Mountaineer cases which we thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forfarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear forfarian,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to you enjoyed everything and found our team to be happy and enjoying all interactions. I will certainly take "best in Kamloops !" that is what we are striving for, and glad you enjoyed our central location. Hope to see you again !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a group just for 1 night. On approaching the hotel we were unsure about it as it doesn't look very sparkling from the outside. The lobby however is warm and inviting, the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

We had and enormous room with a great view of the mountains, however I found the room to be sparse and uninviting. I did get a good nights sleep though as it was quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable!

We had read good reviews about breakfast so decided to eat at the hotel. We were waiting 50 minutes before we were served but the staff were apologetic and kept us topped up with coffee. The breakfast was delicious it was a shame we had to rush it!

Overall, I was disappointed by this hotel as the website paints a much nicer picture than the actual experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatAdventure0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear GreatAdventure0106,

Thank you for taking the time to share of your experience. I am glad our food and restaurant lived up to expectation - though I am sorry it took so long ! We did have a few group breakfasts arrive all at one due to the rock slide/train line closure last week and this pushed this circumstance. I was glad to read that the employees and service were very good in all areas. As you may have read earlier in these reviews were just finishing some exterior work, so our "packaging" will soon be as good as our inside experience !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews