We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great course but perhaps not for everyone”

Tobiano Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tobiano is situated in one of the most stunning, pristine and unaffected areas of the province. Capturing the essence of B.C.'s semi-arid desert climate, and panoramic vistas, here you will find some of the most remarkable landscape in the province. You will find yourself surrounded by hues of red soil, grey-green sagebrush and deep-blue lake. As you sense the sun on your face and quietly take in your surroundings you will experience nothing less than nature at its finest.Conveniently located 15 minutes outside of Kamloops - the fifth largest city, by population and economic prosperity in British Columbia, the master-planned community's 18,000 acres are comprised of hiking trails, an award winning golf course and stunning views. You'll find it all here at Tobiano. If you are searching for that perfect home, welcome to Tobiano, a place for everyone. Please note Tobiano is open for the 2018 golf season starting Saturday April 6th, 2018. See you on the tee.
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Tobiano is a beautiful course in a very pretty location. We were lucky enough to get 18 holes in on a day when wind was at a minimum. The greens were extremely well kept and fast. The fairways again were in excellent condition. We didn't hang around the pro shop or eat in the clubhouse so can't comment on that. I am more than willing to accept that the standard of our golf let us down, but for me this is a course I wouldn't rush to play again because it is so very long. At least one of the holes you are driving over a ravine, and if the wind had been present I'm not sure I would have made it, no matter how many tries I took. I think we were out for nearly 5 hours. That's a long round. For special occasions only. I think we paid $87 for the green fees and cart (2 x carts for 3 players).

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank P_J_M_J_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobianoGolf, Manager at Tobiano Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi P_J_M_J_8,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - we appreciate your feedback and your compliments on course condition. We agree that Tobiano is the perfect venue for special occasions and while our beautiful course can present some challenging shots over our signature terrain, we offer 7 sets of tees to best match our guests golf ability with the hole at hand. Picking the right set of tees to play from can truly change the on-course experience. We look forward to your return and hopefully you will have the opportunity to enjoy our clubhouse and the Black Iron Restaurant. Terry Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"kamloops lake"
in 13 reviews
"tee boxes"
in 9 reviews
"bucket list"
in 6 reviews
"in great shape"
in 10 reviews
"predator ridge"
in 4 reviews
"practice facility"
in 3 reviews
"maintenance staff"
in 3 reviews
"better shape"
in 3 reviews
"fairways and greens"
in 5 reviews
"immaculate condition"
in 2 reviews
"real challenge"
in 2 reviews
"great greens"
in 2 reviews
"lovely meal"
in 2 reviews
"cheaper rate"
in 2 reviews
"picturesque location"
in 2 reviews
"spectacular setting"
in 2 reviews
"green fees"
in 4 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We played a double round with 12 guys and had a great day of golf and lunch.
The course was in pretty good shape with the only down side being a few wet spots from over watering and a whole lot of smoke which made it very hard to see the views.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobianoGolf, General Manager at Tobiano Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thanks for your feedback Derek. Happy to hear you had a great day of golf and lunch! We hope you can make it back again when the skies are clear. Terry Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This is a difficult golf course, long, soft, sloping fairways and very sloping greens. The views are amazing all round the course. It is important that you play off the correct tee for your handicap as there are some long carries over ravines.
It was the most expensive course we played in BC (we played 8) and I'm not sure it was worth the money. We played other courses that were in better shape and more playable.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank RImmerSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobianoGolf, General Manager at Tobiano Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for the honest review and feedback RImmerSouthport. Tobiano is consistently rated as one of the top golf courses in Canada and one of the best maintained. This year has been a bit of an anomaly with environmental challenges, however recent rain and clearer skies are already yielding great results. We do hope you'll tee up with us again soon. Terry Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

5 of us played on a Sunday--3 men played together and 2 ladies. They didn't put other players with us. The day was very hot -mid-30's Celsius (high 90's). There are no trees and therefore no shade anywhere. The course is challenging and fun. The views over the Lake, to the mountains were incredible from all holes.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobianoGolf, General Manager at Tobiano Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you Marie for your great review! We are happy you enjoyed the challenge of playing Tobiano and hope to see you back for another round. Terry Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Wow. One of the most picturesque golf courses we've ever played, in Canada, Mexico & the Carribean. Killer tough course. Needs to be on everyone's bucket list of top 100 courses.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank JayMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobianoGM, General Manager at Tobiano Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for this great review, Jay Morrow! We truly appreciate your commendation. Glad you got to tick us off your bucket list and hope to see you on the tee again. Terry Smith, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tobiano Golf Course also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Tobiano Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing