We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee in Chemainus!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willow Street Cafe

Willow Street Cafe
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Chemainus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 11
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Chemainus!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I live in Chemainus and go here almost every day for my coffee. The staff are consistently friendly and happy, and the coffee is always delicious. As well, their food and baked goods are the best! If you have a chance, be sure to try one of their cinnamon buns, the best I've ever had!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
WOW! Thanks Gwynne for awesome recommendation!!! While I never would say we're the "best" at anything, we certainly don't mind hearing it from our guests. It's reviews like yours that give us the shot in the arm that we love to get from time to time! I will make sure our team hears about this as well!

Phil Mavis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    78
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch spot while in Chemainus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Excellent lunch spot owner operated and everything is made ot order

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hi Linda. Yes our food is simple but it's freshly prepared each day. You visited us back in December so this is an overdue "thank you" for your review.

Warm regards,
Phil and Michelle Mavis
Owners/Operators
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were vacationing in Sooke and went to Chemainus for the theatre. We had our coffees and lunch at Willow St. Cafe. The service is very friendly and helpful. The food is "down home" and tasty. We would certainly go again if in the area. We were there in April and it was raining, but we could see that they do have outdoor seating where you would see the cute rustic shops and people watch.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlessedCalgaryAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you Blessed for the review! I am going out today to powerwash and scrape the patio for its yearly paint job. We're thrilled that you got to see ALL SHOOK UP at the Chemainus Theatre. What an awesome show that was! We loved it too and saw it twice. We look forward to another visit from you in the future!

Phil Mavis
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“The perfect pit stop in the heart of Chemainus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The sunny deck of the Willow Street Cafe was THE spot to take a break from exploring this delightful town. Michelle served us well, adding interesting tidbits about the ingredients (made fresh by hubbie Phil) and how they came to buy this thriving business. The root vegetable soup was outstanding and many rave about the clam chowder. Their warmth and creative, culinary enthusiasm will have us going back and hanging out with them again soon!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meadowsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your review, Meadowsongs. I really enjoyed meeting and chatting with you two as well. Phil is working hard on the deck, getting it painted and ready for another summer season. Hope to see you again someday!

Michelle Mavis
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“The true "Gem" in Chemainus!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have done some work in Chemainus from time to time and I always make sure to stop in at the Willow Street Cafe. I'm not sure which is better, the food or the service. I usually order the same thing with my own special modifications. The entire staff knows me and my order. They are so friendly. I believe the owner's commitment to quality and service trickles down to every employee which makes for a great experience. Trust me; go there soon. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitaminandDolphin, Owner at Willow Street Cafe, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hey Danny!

Thanks very much for the review! We are indeed thrilled to see you come to town for we know we're going to share some laughs and smiles! It is fun to see the kitchen and front of house bang off your modified Grilled Chicken and Swiss like you were here every day! Can't wait to see you again soon!

Phil and Michelle Mavis
Owners/Operators and Fans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willow Street Cafe also viewed

Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Willow Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing