We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite over Christmas and it was great. It has a fireplace and 2 large bedrooms off the main room. A very well equipped kitchen and super staff to take care of you. We have stayed in almost every type of room they have and every stay has been great. Whether it is just a bed to sleep in or an extended stay in the mountains, the Tonquin Inn is great in our books! And better yet they are pet friendly too! We have 2 large dogs.. in addition to our 2 kids (13 and 9) and us! The room was also the meeting and gathering place; we had friends and family stay at the Tonquin and our room was "the spot".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TIFOM, Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review. As always, it’s a pleasure to have you stay with us and we all look forward to seeing you and your entire family back here in Jasper for many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    321
    274
    133
    64
See reviews for
298
399
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

You pay for what you get. My partner and I got a clean room and a comfortable bed - nothing fancy. There's plenty of space in the motel room but the bathroom is small. There is a swimming pool and 2 hot tubs for guests to use. However, the walls are thin as I could hear the guests in the next room talking to the wee hours of the morning (so take some ear plugs!). The motel is a 10 minute walk to the main tourist area of Jasper which is nice. Parking can be a challenge as there were no spaces available to park our SUV on the motel parking lot so we ended up parking on the street.

Would I stay here again. Probably.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the hot tub area and the main reception area...it was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TIFOM, Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us on TripAdvisor. We at the Tonquin Inn take our guest satisfaction very seriously and are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our facilities while you were here. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The staff were really friendly, and the room was ok, nothing fancy, just a place to sleep. I ended up getting bitten at night, don't know if it was bed bugs, but i was sharing a bed and the other person didn't get any bites. I know it wasn't a mosquito because they never leave red itchy marks on me, they don't affect me. So that was unfortunate. Nothing great about the place, but it was for a ski trip and i wasn't spending any time there, just came back to sleep and that was it.
The prime rib at their restaurant is fantastic though, and they provide a pretty good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penpen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TIFOM, Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is unfortunate that we were not made aware of any issues you had with your room during your stay, as we at the Tonquin Inn take our guests comfort and satisfaction very seriously. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals at the Tonquin Prime Rib Village and hope that we will see you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The room looked nice .... however, we were freezing and there were no heat vents to be seen. My husband and I turned the stove and burners on to heat up the place. Also, it is NOT SOUND PROOF AT ALL. Our room was the family room over $200/ night. You could hear people walking back and forth and stomping up and down the stairs all day/night. Go to bed if you dare ..... our room had a window in the bedroom over looking the flight of concrete stairs. You could hear people yelling, talking, walking, stomping EVERYTHING ALL NIGHT!!!!! Also, our balcony over looked the two outdoor hot tubs .... it was incredibly loud and if you opened a window for fresh air, you would woft in the hot tub chemicals. This hotel is also very close to the train tracks, the train seemed to run all night.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone ...... this was one of the many trips we have taken to Jasper, and the worst!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu_linzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TIFOM, Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us on TripAdvisor. We at the Tonquin Inn take our guest satisfaction very seriously and would love to have heard from you directly so that we could make amends while you were here with us. If you have a moment, please contact me directly at cwoo@tonquininn.com so that we can discuss your stay in greater detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

In review, our stay of two nights, was comfortable and quiet. We stayed in the "D" block, so we were away from the main building that has the lobby, etc. I wish we were given a room a little closer to the elevators, as one of our party has a disability, and it was a bit of a walk to get to it. Our room, though a little cramped' , was clean and comfortable. The octopus plug-in was also a bit of a concern,and one lamp beside the bed was not working along with the clock radio, but we didn't miss using it. Had to unplug the coffee maker to plug in the tall lamp, but was no big deal to do so.Over all, we enjoyed our stay, and would have no difficulty in staying there again.

Room Tip: I think staying in the D block made our stay quieter than if we had stayed in the main block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TIFOM, Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again the next time you come back to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.5 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.9 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Property: Tonquin Inn
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,680 - ₹ 13,564
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing