We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away From Home”
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
Living Room fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
Living Room
fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom 2
bathroom 2 with soaker bathtub/shower
bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom 1  with soaker bathtub/shower
The Bear's Den
we like to garden
Garden
local trail heads just up the street from us
winter
winter
a ram on the side of the road driving up to Maligne Lake
early spring to mid June offer good opportunities to see bears
Maligne Canyon in the Winter, walking down in the canyon on the frozen water
a perfect summer day at one of the lakes around Jasper
Jasper Lake looking more like an ocean beach with it's sand dunes made of glacial silt
the trail head just up the street from us leads you to this beautiful slough
we love to walk and hike
Winter Wonderland, during a major snow fall
after a fresh snow fall, the Parks Information Centre looking very enchanting
walking to work...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
traveller...
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How lucky we've been to stay in this cosy apartment for our six day visit to Jasper. Both Gerry and his wife Lydia have thought of everything to ensure that guests have all the creature comforts in this ultra clean, well organised and comfortable apartment. Apart from the comforts provided it was made even more special with the warm welcome that both Vallee (friend) and Gerry provided for us when we arrived. Sadly, we didn't get to meet Lydia who was overseas but who had originally been very helpful with emails and booking this rental. Gerry continued to provide very helpful advice for walks, scenic drives etc and even helpful gadgets to scrape the ice off our car windscreen. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough for a short or long stay - I would return here in a heartbeat!!!!! Thanks so much Gerry and Lydia for your outstanding hospitality and homely apartment that we will long remember!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly, helpful and very honest owners who have provided a wonderful apartment!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonesyMid...
midwest
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Truly a Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have rented at least a dozen VRBO in the last ten years and The Bear's Den rates Number One! Gerry and Lydia thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. This well planned rental is spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped. From soft drinks and coffee, to umbrellas and flashlights, this cozy home away from home was perfect!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amblinaga...
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were three adults and had the entire basement suite. The place is wonderfully decorated, very clean, and has everything you need including a full kitchen and washer/dryer, all of which we made use of. Can highly recommend the Bear's Den in Jasper. It is in town, so restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor, location, easy to book!
Liked least: Not much view from the basement
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLA...
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - my only comment : book early.”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family with 2 boys and rented both rooms, which is perfect for our family. Lydia was a great host and very helpful in providing advices on activities. (Indeed, she has been very helpful in helping me to find other alternative accommodation when our original plan could not fit with her availability. However, given the excellent comments from other TA users, we decided to change our plan to fit with her schedule. Hence, we have high expectations and are glad that we did change our plan.)

The apartment is very well maintained and the kitchen is well stocked / equipped with all the necessities we need for cooking. While the apartment is in the basement level (ie there are stairs that you need to walk down), the house is reasonably well-lit and you could still see the sky from the window. Jasper is a very nice town to stay and we would love to come back to stay in Bear's Den.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Full kitchen with both washing and drying machines. The apartment is well stocked of all necessities.
Liked least: Can't think of any.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigdogfan
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exceptional comfort and value”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Bear's Den was a lucky find. Having researched the hotel accommodation in the area I decided I didn't want to book into any of the regular hotels or lodges but wanted something more personable. The Bears Den is a little gem. Gerry and Lydia have gone the extra mile to provide every sort of home comfort, even to the extent of providing a spare tooth brush for the unprepared or forgetful! There are 2 rooms / suites and we stayed in the more expensive one. It consisted of a bedroom with a very comfortable double bed, an open plan lounge / diner / kitchen and a bathroom with bath and shower above. Everything was spotless and in extremely good order. There was a tv and a good music collection plus an amazing DVD collection (bad weather no problem!!). No problem either with internet connection. In the kitchen area was a cooker, microwave, grill, toaster, coffee maker, fridge/freezer etc. The cupboards were stocked with all the basics so need to pack that bit of salt,cooking oil or condiment or worry about making tea and coffee. We used the washer / dryer and caught up with all our washing (washing powder provided of course!). An iron was provided too. In fact it was clear that a great effort had been made to cover every need or eventuality. If all this wasn't enough the Bear's Den is also a few minutes walk from the two main streets in Jasper so no need to drive if you don't want to. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Jasper and will be recommending to our family to book here when they make their tour of the Canadian Rockies. A word of caution though .... Book well in advance or you'll be disappointed ... this place is very popular and gets booked up early .. which is hardly surprising.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thought that had gone into providing all home comforts
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing