We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
53
82
102
74
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
82
102
74
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the de'd dog rooms are small quaint hotel information centre central location middle of town the main drag bed was comfortable visiting jasper papa mountains elk
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

First off, Jasper is one of the biggest rip off places I've seen. The Rocky Mountaineer leaves from Jasper very early in the morning so you have to stay in Jasper the night before unless you live close by. So, the hotels charge ridiculous prices. There is nothing wrong with the Astoria. It is old, but it's clean and renovated and a very modest hotel. But worth nearly $300/night? No. But, it was within walking distance to the train station, that was a bonus and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would not recommend it to elderly or handicapped folks as you carry your own luggage up to the rooms on the second floor.

Room Tip: Book very early - rooms sell out very quickly with the Rocky Mountaineer starting from there!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendakerr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The hotel is well located, surrounded by many restaurants and different services. The hotel looks old but the room was clean despite the small size. The tiny bathroom (sink located in the room and toilet and shower separated) was efficient. The room includs a mini-fridge. Wifi is included but slow considering we are in the moutains. The staff was polite and friendly. However, we think it was not worth the very expensive amount we paid for it. Unfortunately, even 3 months before our trip, all the rooms in Japser were booked, so we had no other option

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilku_Feee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

This hotel is neither quaint nor charming - it is tired, overpriced and uncomfortable. We had to straddle the toilet to close the bathroom door, the tub was cracked, the desk chair was broken, the hotel doesn't have any parking - you have to use the town-provided parking lot across the street and there's no guarantee that you will actually get a spot, and the A/C consisted of a large electric oxygen concentrator-like contraption with an eight inch hose that vented out the only window in the room. Because of that hose, the window blind didn't go all the way to the bottom of the window, which was [did I mention this already?] right across the street from the town parking lot. On top of these not insignificant annoyances, they charged us for a mountain view room because there were supposed to be mountain views, but the smoke from local wildfires completely obliterated the mountains and they had the nerve to tell me that they weren't going to honor the non-mountain view room rate! Expect to dispute any excess charges with your credit card company - these folks do not honor what is clearly stipulated on their website!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliverga, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

We can take ownership for qualities of the room which you find to be unsatisfactory. Desk chairs can be repaired immediately if it is brought to the attention of maintenance during the guests stay with us. A/C units are temporary units which have been added to the rooms for the summer season before we add fixed units to the rooms. Parking is indeed located just across the street from our hotel.
What we cannot control is the dense forest fire smoke which blew into our town from the neighbouring province which was plagued by wildfires for most of the summer. These fires did indeed disrupt your mountain view as well as evacuate several towns within the province.
Perhaps you can turn your opinion to Parks Canada for not having invented forest fire penetrable glasses yet..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

The Astoria Hotel is an old, family-run business. It seems more like a quaint, European hotel. The rooms are small, as is the bathroom and shower. But they are not cookie-cutter like many big hotels are today. They do have a TV and a refrigerator. For the price, the towels could be thicker. The king bed is actually two twins put together. Be sure to eat in Papa George’s restaurant, attached to the hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Astoria Hotel while in Jasper. It was very charming with alot of personality. The location and views were incredible. Everything was at our fingertips tips. The staff was friendly and warm. All the comforts of home. Definite recommend!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Hearswhatithought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews