We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Lodging, could be happier, you get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanford Hotels and Resort
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Grande Prairie
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic Lodging, could be happier, you get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

I pretty much stay here for a week at a time every month in the winters. The hotel is a little dated, but it is inexpensive. Rooms vary from decent to disappointing. If you're staying by yourself, make sure to book a double room as the paper-thin blankets on the spare bed will come in handy when the "in-room" thermostat doesn't seem to increase the temperature. Wi-fi service is sporatic at best, the fridge in the "kitchenette" I had was warmer than my room and I lost about $40 in groceries within two days. I bought my own frying pan after seeing the 70's throwbacks they supply. The 'Do Not Disturb" door hanger must become transparent when hung outside the door, as the cleaning staff continually start entering between 7-8am, (sometimes they even knock). Weekends are especially entertaining if your the type who enjoys hearing drunk rig workers party 'til the wee hours of the morning un-challenged by management. The rooms are clean and the showers are hot. I guess not much more should be expected for the price. When the economy is hot, this hotel is at capacity with oil workers and answers to no-one. It will be interesting to see if upgrades and service improves now that there is ample vacancy and choice for bargains throughout Grande Prairie.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garagamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    20
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
6
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

The Stanford Inn was once again excellent. We had 8 rooms booked with the Tommy Hunter show on our recent visit to Grande Prairie. The hotel staff, as always had everything in order prior to our arrival and have been the greatest ever since we have arrived, We have been here for 3 nights.

The rooms are very clean and the restaurant right beside the hotel has great food as well.

We would recommend the hotel to anyone....

The greatest.

  • Liked — user friendly
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bwe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

I have just finished my stay with the Stanford. It was quite enjoyable. I met some very friendly and helpful representatives of the hotel and the food was fantastic. They have currently renovated the Restaurant with more planned and it looks great.

Had a drink in their newly renovated Pub and it was quite relaxing.

Thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank workinggal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton29
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

Just finished a business trip / golf date. The hotel staff were great...gave us jacuzzi suites. Very friendly.

  • Liked — Location to airport
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank riverrat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2004

A friend and I had breakfst at the restaurant there, Delmonicos I think is the name . Well I have never been treated so rude, the waitresses seem to have no smile and it is like they have been there too long and not into customer service at all, I will be cantacting them tomorrow and will tell them what it was like and they had better change something pretty soon, I am surprised they are still open with there attitude towards customers it was just plain awful and there were 3 or 4 waitresses and they were all they same. The food was just as bad as the service I don't where the chef is but I am certain they were not there, just awful food and how can you go wrong with eggs but they did succeed, I can tell you I will never darken their doors and my friend either. If it was the only restaurant there I would leave town and find food elsewhere, it is really too bad because I was at this restaurant a few years back and it was very good but that is no longer the case, very sad for sure. Well I have vented for today and I will contact them tomorrow. Thank You for hearing me out.
Signing off
2 upset customers

Helpful?
7 Thank Britta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grande Prairie hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grande Prairie hotels
1.3 km away
Podollan Inn & Spa
Podollan Inn & Spa
#1 of 24 in Grande Prairie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Grande Prairie Hotel & Suites
3.5 km away
Stonebridge Hotel Grande Prairie
Stonebridge Hotel Grande Prairie
#6 of 24 in Grande Prairie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Grande Prairie
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton G...
#2 of 24 in Grande Prairie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 24 in Grande Prairie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
6.9 km away
Days Inn Grande Prairie
Days Inn Grande Prairie
#11 of 24 in Grande Prairie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Hotels and Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hotels and Resort

Property: Stanford Hotels and Resort
Address: 11401 100 Avenue, Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V 5M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Grande Prairie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Grande Prairie
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,145 - ₹ 7,201
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stanford Hotels and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Prairie Stanford Hotel is one of Northern Alberta's largest full-service hotels. The hotel offers 205 rooms featuring full kitchen units, Jacuzzi suites as well as large executive suites. We are conveniently located just 3.2 kilometers form the airport in the center of the Westside shopping district. We proudly offer full-service dining, banquet and meeting rooms, complimentary high speed internet, sauna and fitness facility, guest laundry and free parking for vehicles of all sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Hotels and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel Grande Prairie
Stanford Hotels And Resort Grande Prairie, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing