We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to spend Saturday night.”
Review of Polish Club Syrena

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Polish Club Syrena
Ranked #1,068 of 2,792 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central McDougall
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Me, my husband and our friends like to go to Syrena on Saturday night for dinner and dance. It's by far the best club in town. We are European but not fully Polish, so it's not our patriotic opinion that makes me to write this review. It's simply the best place with freshly prepered food at affordable prices and great music. All our Canadian friends like to join us whenever we are going.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2015

Thre are so many restaurants in Edmonton when you can only eat. This is only one, almost unique with special atmospere, where people can eat, drink and dance. Food was good, but what I really apreciate -this is opportunity not gane waight, but loose, because of dancing

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

The owner is pleasant and was accommodating. We hosted a party there the hall was free and just paid per head for food had to order a additional snack soup and buns and was done right away on the spot for us. Pleasant server great food!!! Great prices !! Nice delicate music!! Good alcohol prices!

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ak201488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

This place was recommended to us by some friends. Always open to visit new places we considered this place to celebrate my wife's birthday. We went to get a sense of the atmosphere and had to wait almost 20 minutes until a waitress acknowledged us even thou the place was virtually empty. However the one thing that welcomed us immediately was the smell of cold smoke, greasy food and all-in-all an outdated and run down establishment. When the owner finally came to talk to us we discussed the our request and some menu options and prices. He was very bossy and insisted that he knows best what we want. (really?) He was supposed to send us a formal offer of what we had discussed. but leaving the place we knew for certain that we wold NOT be celebrating my wife's birthday there.
On my wife's actual birthday, she got an angry and incredibly rude phone call from the owner, yelling at her for not showing up for the supposedly booked room. He cursed at her and threatened her to never ever come back to his restaurant (not incentive needed here!!!).

Stay away from this place as far as you can if you value good and attentive service. Don't cross the owner as he will probably take it out on you. If I could give minus ratings, this would be the place that deserves a -5 stars.

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank siegenthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Once upon a time, Syrena was pretty good. Good value for European food, good music, and an overall good time. Fast forward 3-4 years, and things have gone down hill fast. It was a good bet before that Sunday family buffet was, fresh and tast. Now it is just gross. Packaged perogies from Costco, over done and dry meats, bad bad bad. For $20 dollars, you could have a better meal anywhere! Despite the ridiculously bad food, the servers do their best and is the only bright spot. Avoid this place at any cost. On a side note, this club has evening dancing, again totally ridiculous unlesss you enjoy 70 year old DJ's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Bercom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polish Club Syrena also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Polish Club Syrena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing