We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,754)
Filter reviews
1,754 results
Traveller rating
1,138
435
111
47
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,138
435
111
47
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whyte ave valet parking wine tasting great location water room valet service street noise old strathcona sister hotel self park complimentary breakfast mini bar excellent hotel enjoyed my stay excellent stay yogurt king bed
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 1,754 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Conveniently located on Whyte Avenue close to shops, diverse restaurants and even grocery stores. There is lots to see and do in the area. The rooms are comfortable, clean and the breakfast is not your usual run of the mill pastry and toast.
Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peachemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh S, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear peachemma,

Thank you for your kind words, we are thrilled that you had such a great stay with us!

See you again soon,

Josh Solomon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Have stayed here before and they never disappoint. We booked 4 rooms (3 had never stayed at Meterra before) and all were impressed. Rooms are great, wine and cheese and complimentary hot breakfast are wonderful touches. Service is always outstanding to the extent that my stepmom needed something from the drugstore and one of the staff finishing a shift ran out at 10:30 pm for her. WOW! Thanks Meterra, we stayed Monday night as my daughter was convocating and we thoroughly enjoyed.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FairDivorce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh S, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear FairDivorce,

Thank you so much for your review! Our guests mean the world to us and I am so happy you were taken care of during what can be a busy time! I will be sure to share your feedback with our wonderful and caring team!

Thank you for being an ambassador for our Hotel, we will see you again soon!

Josh Solomon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

This wasn't as great as the first time I stayed so I am a little disappointed. First the hotel staff are fantastic. That hasn't changed at all. What has changed is the level of cleanliness is sub-par and the beds are terrible. The room wasn't clean - or as clean as it should be. We had a room with two double beds for three of us. The beds sit on a platform base that is a lot wider than the mattress and there were gross things all over the platform. The room needed a good dusting and the carpet was filthy. When we stepped in the room, it smelled like a dirty toilet. We thought that perhaps someone had just checked out and gave it the benefit of the doubt. We were dropping our stuff and leaving anyway. When we returned 5 hours later, the room still smelled bad - really bad.

It just needs a really good cleaning and new mattresses. Other than that, the hotel is great. Great location, great staff. great breakfast with lots of variety. Valet parking is easy and it is the same price as if you parked the car yourself.

A solid tip for travelers is this hotel is NOISY. Use the ear plugs you are provided and all is good.

We would stay again.

Room tip: No room will be quiet as Whyte Ave is a hub of activity. Use the ear plugs provided.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luckyduck2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh S, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Luckyduck2012,

I am disappointed to hear you had such a challenging stay with us and would love the opportunity to speak with you further. Please reach out to me directly if you choose.

I hope you will give us an opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Josh Solomon
General Manager
jsolomon@hotelsonwhyte.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed Calgary a lot more than Edmonton, but this area of town was nice with good restaurants and bars within walking distance from the hotel. We would always stay in this hotel again when in Edmonton and we miss the wonderful breakfast already.

Pros:
- Spacious room
- Everything was clean
- Wonderful breakfast buffet with fresh fruit and exceptional service (great bacon;-))
- Great choice of restaurant and bars within walking distance (though this makes it a busy street until late at night)

Cons:
- Whyte Ave is very noisy, you can hear the street noise any time of day, also all night (we were on 10th floor) > though they provide earplugs on the nightstand in your room
- Valet parking can take a while - they told us 45min but the longest we had to wait was 30min (no official parking lot for self parking, but of course there are parking options in the area but we used valet - for us it was free with the rate, don‘t know if it‘s free in general)

We really want to mention the lady at the breakfast. She was taking great care of buffet and guests and made the already great breakfast even better with her service and good mood. Thanks for that!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anna_bananav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh S, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear anna_bananav,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and feedback from you stay. It sounds like overall you had a great stay and enjoyed our offerings. I couldn't agree more, Sanita our breakfast server is such a pleasure. I will be sure to share these comments with her!

I'm sorry to hear about the noise from the street. As much as we love how "lively" Whyte Ave can be it's not always restful when your room is facing the action. I've made a note on your guest profile to ensure that we always select a room on the side or the back of the hotel to avoid any issues in the future. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Bathroom wasn’t cleaned properly, but rooms are really nice and the location is great. Stayed in the King suite, spacious. Comfortable, but a little hot even with the AC cranked down. Great value for a big suite in that location and free valet parking is a huge plus.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brocka570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh S, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear brocka570,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments, it sounds like overall your stay was great. I noticed that you mentioned that your bathroom was not cleaned properly. I am sorry that this has negatively impacted your stay and will follow up with our housekeeping team to ensure this issue is rectified.

Regards,

Josh Solomon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews