We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returning Customer with Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre
Ranked #16 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Returning Customer with Bad Experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Second time staying here. First time stayed in an Executive King room which was very clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet. Our visit this time was in a Standard King room which was a totally different experience. Rooms were a bit run down, wallpaper peeling off with a hole in the wall and water stain on the ceiling. The air condition unit was faulty. Our room was VERY hot and could not lower the temperature. Our phone did not work. We could not call front desk for help! Our room was also beside the stairway doors. Throughout the night, when people opened and closed the door, there was a loud BANG which we couldn't sleep.

We requested for a room change the following morning and was promised one however when we returned at night, we were told there wasn't anymore availability. We were told that a request was never put in as if we were lying.

We still have 3 more nights here. Hopefully something will be done. The only thing we are looking forward to is the wonderful breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvin121683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Manager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Kelvin,

Thank you for completing this review following your stay with us, and it was nice that we had conversation on phone this morning. Thank you for expressing that you will visit again and we certainly hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Edmonton Hotel & Convention Centre.

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to detail of your room which was clearly not to our usual standard. There can be no excuse for these maintenance issues and I am very sorry that your room was not in perfect condition for your arrival. Certainly the way in which your room was prepared does not meet with our standards and I have taken this very seriously. I am, however, pleased that we were able to offer you alternative accommodation although I am disappointed that this was not to your satisfaction.

We have taken the necessary action within our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments to ensure that the shortfalls you encountered do not recur in the future.

Best Regards,

Ling Jin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    285
    116
    51
    37
See reviews for
239
158
45
548
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for the past three years. The renovations have been ongoing but they generally do not affect the enjoyment of my stay there.

The lounge has the same food as the restaurant, too bad it is closed Sunday. Fred and Tina are very friendly and always remember what we drink from the previous stay, I was disappointed to see the prices for both food have increased over 50 % since my last visit. Maybe a more moderate increase would keep people in the hotel for their evening meal. they would more than make it up in liquor sales.

The breakfast is OK, I would certainly not pay $ 13 for it though. I agree the eggs are tasteless but they are now offering cheese and onions to add for flavour.

The rooms are always clean and a decent size. Wifi internet service is good and does not require a password but you have to log in every 24 hours.

Overall the this a very economical hotel, location is good for me but could see it may not work for everyone. I work at Northlands when I am there and it takes about 15 minutes to drive there so that is as good as downtown. Best thing about the hotel.....the compimentary cookies and banana bread at reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwgP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Manager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continuous patronage with our hotel and also for the feedback which will provide us with an opportunity to review and improve our overall operations.

First of all, we are proud to have team members like Tina & Fred who always are going above and beyond to make a guest happy. I can assure you that both Tina and Fred in the Lounge have been made aware of your comments as they serve as a great motivator. Our newly launched menus truly offer a lot of variety and I recommend you to try our Restaurant food as well as the choices are more elaborate than the lounge menu. Our new menu prices are still low when compared to the current market offerings in the area and we also need to take into consideration our own costs.

I’d like to take this opportunity to clarify that our Hot Breakfast buffet is complimentary for our in house guests and we do charge $13 per person for guest who do not stay with us. And we do appreciate your comment regarding to quality of egg, we are looking into improving the quality being offered at the buffet.

I am also delighted that you did enjoy our guest room and complimentary wifi service.

The team at Edmonton Hotel and Convention Centre are delighted to be able to offer you a warm welcome and efficient service and we thank you most sincerely for such detailed review and helping us to improve our overall service level.

Best Regards,

Ling Jin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Very quiet, comfortable, clean, modern rooms. Comfortable bed. Great staff and service. Although this is not the best location (away from any shops, resaturants, attractions) if you are in the area, definitely book this hotel. They have 2 restaurants on site and free good breakfest is included. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Manager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Pawel_0

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you bedroom to be clean and modern. I am thrilled to learn that you found all team members to be great.

I am really pleased that you will be back to stay with us and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon when we will have the opportunity of looking after you once again.

Best Regards,

Ling Jin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Business traveller. Newly renovated. Great, helpful staff. Free Wi-Fi. Great bar to relax in after work. Restaurant has bison burgers! Heck of a value. Plenty of meeting spaces for sales meetings Showers are fantastic! Will definitely return!

Room Tip: If you have a group ask for Matilda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Manager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear James L,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us following your recent stay at Edmonton Hotel & Convention Centre.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am really pleased that you had a great stay and enjoyed our service.

Thank you for expressing that you will visit again and we certainly hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Edmonton Hotel & Convention Centre in the not too distant future.


Best Regards,

Ling Jin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed for one night, the staff was helpful and accomodating, the rooms showed some wear, even though you could tell there was a recent renovation, (so cheap materials used) a bit messy, but the beds were very comfortable! it was VERY quiet, so sleep was easy. Nice to have a free breakfast buffet(just don't eat the eggs, they were not real), free bottles of water in the room, and free parking included, what excellent value!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Manager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Dee S

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at the hotel.

I am pleased to learn that on the whole that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be passing on your kind comments to our team members.

I note your feedback regarding to egg quality in our breakfast. I have forwarded your comment to our Head Chef, and we are looking into to improve the quality of egg in our breakfast service.

Thank you for expressing that your stay was Excellent Value, we certainly hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Edmonton Hotel & Convention Centre in the not too distant future.


Best Regards,

Ling Jin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre

Property: Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre
Address: 4520 76 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6B 0A5, Canada (Formerly Edmonton Hotel & Convention Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#11 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,309 - ₹ 7,031
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre welcomes you and your family to our lovely hotel. We offer 168 guest rooms with king and queen size accommodations. Our friendly staff will go the extra mile to help you on your next visit to Edmonton or Sherwood Park. Our hotel has easy access to all major arteries in Edmonton and Sherwood Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Hotel And Convention Centre
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn
Radisson Hotel And Convention Centre Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing