We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,276)
Filter reviews
1,276 results
Traveller rating
751
343
113
47
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
751
343
113
47
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconfederation loungegold floorroom restaurantoverlooking the rivernorth saskatchewan riverbeautiful hotelsteam roomvalet parkingself parkan upgradedowntown edmontonbed was very comfortablewould highly recommend this hotelharvestsmudgesbrunchwedding
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,276 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Came to the Fairmont MacDonald with 4 of my friends to enjoy their patio for lunch. Still not able to decide if their food was outstanding or the service.Loved the Halibut burger. Meat platter was very good. Cocktails are yumm. We are coming back for sure!!! Thank you.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank anjalipotdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoslynBlack, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for feedback. We're delighted you got to enjoyed our beautiful patio and had such a great dining experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm regards,
Joslyn Black
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel was clean. Employees were great. But staff's response to unnecessary noise fell woefully short.

We follow the rules. We tip staff well. But a wedding party apparently thought it owned the hotel. Very loud, with people spilling out into the hallway, driking alcohol, talking loudly, running up and down the halls and slamming doors.

Multiple complaints to management only temporarily solved the problem. We were offered to switch rooms. Why don't the perpetrators change rooms? We were in bed and unpacked. Obviously, the hotel valued the party's business more than ours.

For the rates we pay, including $45 a night for parking, sky-high food and nearly $20 a day for online access, the Hotel Macdonald certainly has weak responses to those who break rules and have little respect for others who stay there.

We were waived the outrageous valet fees for our trouble, which was a decent start, but we've stayed at many luxury hotels before, and this one simply didn't measure up.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnkelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoslynBlack, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet our standards of customer service excellence that we strive to provide. We will be taking your feedback and sharing it with the team as it will help our team grow and improve.
We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future to restore your faith in us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Joslyn Black
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for multiple times and it’s still amazing. Very clean and staffs are very friendly. We’ll go back to this hotel again. The garden at the back is the best view. Food at the harvest Room Restaurant is also one of the best.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Bruce-sheena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoslynBlack, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for feedback. We're delighted you got to enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm regards,
Joslyn Black
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

My family had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and very spacious. We spent some time in the pool, which the kids loved. We will definitely stay here again on future trips to Edmonton.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank leanneskelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoslynBlack, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for feedback. We're delighted you got to enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm regards,
Joslyn Black
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We had two days for meetings in the hotel. The staff was very helpful, the meeting rooms worked out very well. Enjoyed a lunch outside overlooking the river valley. The rooms were clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoslynBlack, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for feedback. We're delighted you got to enjoyed our amenities.We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm regards,
Joslyn Black
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews